The last round of planting

18 May

After multiple trips to Mother Earth and to my dirt pile, I’m done planting….for now. There are always things to add later; more radishes, perhaps another round of snap peas, and lettuce will be replanted many times. However, the major planting has ended. In addition to my frost tolerant veggies, I have now added green beans, eggplant, peppers, and 6 varieties of heirloom tomatoes thanks to a lovely gentleman at the Mill City Farmers Market. He did well for me last year so I have high expectations for this years yield.  The varieties are Brandywine, Black Cherry, Black Prince, San Marzano, Yellow Pear, and Armenian.  The brandywines and yellow pears are repeats from last year but the four others are newbiews. They sound fantastic and the tomato guy was so passionate about them.

Then there are the herbs. I love herbs. So cheap to plant, so expensive to buy. This is a no-brainer people. Go buy a basil plant, water it, and you’ll have basil all summer (just pick off the flowers) and whatever is left you can make into pesto! In addition to the 4 basil plants, I also went with rosemary, thyme, sage, oregano, parsley, cilantro, tarragon, Thai basil, dill, lavender, and chamomile. The lavender and chamomile are mainly because I like how they smell in my garden. Did I mention I love herbs?

This week we will be able to start eating lettuce, arugula, and spinach. I sampled a few leaves from each tonight and they tasted just like they should – perfect.

Here’s a more recent photo of the garden, but it is still pre-tomatoes.

_MG_4857_MG_4858

Leave a Reply

