she said. she said: a random email convo

29 May

Anne: what meals should I put in the plans for the next few days? I hafta go grocery shopping this afternoon. GAAAAAAAAAH. BLAH!! GAAAAAAAAAH.
I’ll have you know that last night for dinner I grilled hot dogs (100% beef thousand hills farm variety) and made tater tots. DESPERATE.

Jen: I have meatloaf on the brain. I think I’m going to make it tomorrow night and make mashed turnips and roasted asparagus. I’m going to try Ina’s recipe, but I’ll probably ½ it since this looks like it makes a lot.

I made this this week and really liked it. You could serve it with grilled chicken and/or pita wedges and maybe some grapes..
Spelt Salad with White Beans and Artichokes

Ingredients
* 1 1/4 cups uncooked spelt (farro), rinsed and drained – I used Bulger. You could also use couscous. I couldn’t find spelt at WF, so I’m not sure where else you’d find it.
* 2 1/2 cups water
* 1/3 cup chopped fresh mint
* 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
* 1/4 cup minced red onion
* 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
* 2 tablespoons olive oil
* 1/4 teaspoon salt
* 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
* 1 (15-ounce) can navy beans, rinsed and drained – I used white beans I had in the cupboard.
* 1 (14-ounce) can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

Preparation:
Combine spelt and 2 1/2 cups water in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 30 minutes or until tender and liquid is absorbed.
Combine cooked spelt, mint, and the remaining ingredients in a large bowl, stirring well. Cover and store in the refrigerator.

Anne: I rarely eat meatloaf. It’s kind of along the same lines as meatballs to me. That mooshed up ground up wet meat all smooshed together…
The salad sounds good!!
I need a new cookbook. I think I’m relying too heavily on Ellie.

Jen: Maybe you could try something new out of the New Spanish Table?

Anne: I could. Many of those recipes are “involved.” I try to shy away from involved unless it’s a weekend. Perhaps I should get my arse off the computer and hit the list making/cookbook perusing instead.

Jen: Yes they do tend to be a bit involved.

A friend sent me this recipe. I haven’t made it yet, but it looks good.

Venezuelan shredded chicken‏

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast
olive oil and/or butter
1 onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
a handful of cilantro, chopped
a handful of flat leaf parsley, chopped
2 Tbsp soy sauce
2 Tbsp Worcestershire
ground cumin (to taste – I use about 1 tsp)

Cook chicken breasts in a pot of boiling water. Allow to cool. Shred into small pieces.
Heat olive oil and/or butter in a saute pan over medium heat. Saute onion, red bell pepper and garlic until soft.
Add cilantro, parsley and shredded chicken. Stir well. Add soy sauce, Worcestershire and cumin. Stir well.
Serve hot with rice, tortillas or arepas.

Anne: I made that spelt salad tonight. Didn’t prepare it in advance though so it wasn’t chilled…it was a bit of an odd and warm consistency:)
And to make up for the hot dogs and tater tots I fed my kid last night, tonight I served him lima beans, carrots, garbanzo beans, artichoke, and bulgar…with strawberries and grapes for dessert. And he ate it all:)

{this just added to ask- what the heck are arepas??}

Jen: Arepas are very common in Venezuela and are made from corn. They are kind like thicker fluffier tortilla. I have never made them but have seen recipes. My friend that gave me the recipe for the chicken has made them. Maybe this will coax her to comment. :)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

4 Responses to “she said. she said: a random email convo”

  1. JackieO May 30, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    You two….
    I am going to buy the Ellie cookbook. Is she on the food network anymore??

    • jen May 31, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

      I believe so. Saturdays at noon. Sad that I know that without even looking it up! Her cookbook is great. I’ve made quite a few things out of it.

  2. Jen I June 4, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

    I LOVE this!! Pretty soon you two will have a talk show too… I’ll for sure visit your new blog often (esp. if it gives me ideas for dinner)!

  3. Willa June 6, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    First, I love your blog! You are inspiring me to do more outside and search for my inner green thumb. Great dialogue.

    I want to mention a shortcut for the chicken – buy a rotisserie chicken (preferably plain from WF) and shred it. Go easy on the soy sauce and Worcestershire though because the rotisserie chicken is already salted.

    Arepas are a Venezuelan staple served at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The most basic recipe is harina pan, water and salt but there are hundreds of variations and possible additions. A standard arepa would be about 4 to 5 inches in diameter and maybe 1 inch thick but preferences are as individual as the person. I usually buy the Harina Pan at a store in MGM.

    I’m happy to share anytime. Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

