The Weekly Menu

7 Jun

I am a big believer in weekly menus.  Spending a Saturday or Sunday morning planning  a menu with a cup of coffee in hand is one of my favorite times of the week. I will literally be covered with cookbooks and magazines on the couch. I first look at what nights both Brette and I will be home, then I consider what food I already have in the house and in the garden and I go from there. Once I have the menu put together, I create my grocery list and post the menu on the fridge.  It is so nice to have the week planned out and the groceries to go along with it.  It cuts back on eating out, stopping at the grocery store a million times, and having to think about what to make at 7 p.m.  on a Tuesday.

Here’s what I put up on the fridge today. All the recipes for the week this time are brand new and never been tried.

Sunday: Basil-Rubbed Pork Chops with Nectarine-Blue Cheese Salad & Toasted Pine Nuts (from a Bobby Flay cookbook), Yukon potato “chips”.

Monday: Farmer’s Market Stir-Fry Salad over Israeli CousCous (featuring some of my farmer’s market haul: asparagus, spring onions, broccoli, sugar snaps)

Tuesday: Brette’s choice since I’ll be on my bike

Wednesday: Greek Shrimp and Asparagus Risotto (from Cooking Light)

Thursday: San-Diego Style Salmon Tacos (Inspired from this recipe from Bobby Flay)

How do you plan? Do you plan? What works well for you?

5 Responses to “The Weekly Menu”

  1. anne June 7, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    You rule!! (You suck. An entire Sunday morning free and open to read cookbooks and drink coffee??? Add this to the ‘1,237,394 Reasons Not To’).

    I’ll answer your questions: My planning blows. I try really hard to get at least a few days’ worth of meals planned out in advance, but I must admit I’m only successful every third week or so. It just feels like such an overwhelming task- to take inventory of my kitchen, search for recipes, make the list, and shop (at usually more than one store), while also dealing with toddler issues. BUT, the weeks when I do plan and shop and organize my meals…I feel so happy and productive and un-stressed at dinnertime! So I’m going to continue my personal goal of doing weekly meal planning on a more regular basis.

    P.S. I only have two meals planned so far for this week, and here’s what they are:
    Sunday- Tuscan Vegetable Soup (Ellie Krieger of course) **used husband’s home-grown thyme!**
    Monday- tomato/basil/mozzarella pizza with a side of salad **basil will come from husband’s home-grown basil patch! Greens for salad from Kingfield Farmer’s Market!**

  2. Jen June 7, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    Love the menus…especially San Diego style fish tacos:)

    • jen June 8, 2009 at 7:28 am #

      I’m not sure what makes them San Diego Style other than you guys know how to do fish tacos. I thought about calling them WCJ tacos, but I didn’t think many people would get it. :)

  3. Brette June 8, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    Loved the Sunday meal. You can add grilled banana, ice cream, melted chocolate, raspberry, and hazelnut sundae as the desert (for me at least).

  4. Willa June 8, 2009 at 8:35 am #

    The fish tacos caught my eye as well, a summer favorite!

Leave a Reply

