gazpacho!

24 Jun

I ripped this recipe off from Jen. No idea where she got it, so I’m unable to give anyone credit besides her. In case you’ve never heard of it, gazpacho is a chilled vegetable soup a la Espana that involves zero cooking and is perfect on a hot, hot day. (And whenever I hear the word gazpacho, I immediately think of Mujeres al Borde de un Ataque de Nervios). Oh, and it is imperative that you pronounce the ‘z’ like a ‘th’– gathpacho– or you may as well not even bother making it.

Jen’s Gazpacho (made and documented here by Anne)

  • 1 hothouse cucumber, halved and seeded, but not peeled – one long english one
  • 2 red bell peppers, cored and seeded – yellow or orange work too
  • 4 plum tomatoes
  • 1 red onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 23 ounces tomato juice (3 cups) (or you can use V8! Which I used b/c it was the first thing I found in the store. And it was yum!)
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar – use sherry vinegar – it makes a difference. {{Anne used red wine vinegar b/c SuperT does not carry sherry vinegar}}
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Roughly chop the cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, and red onions into 1-inch cubes. Put each vegetable separately into a food processor fitted with a steel blade and pulse until it is coarsely chopped. Do not over-process! After each vegetable is processed, combine them in a large bowl and add the garlic, tomato juice, vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Mix well and chill before serving. The longer gazpacho sits, the more the flavors develop. (It’s also good with feta on top.)

*****************************

The ingredients (minus the olive oil). This is all you need to make gazpacho!! Simple! Oh, and a food processor helps, too.

IMG_0252

And here is my recipe (p.s. I don’t really recommend doing this.)

IMG_0261

So first you chop the veggies:

cucumber
cuc
(feed the gutted cucumber seeds to the two year old- he’ll eat them all)

tomato
IMG_0258

red pepper
redpep

onion
onion

And this goes pretty fast because you only need to chop them into big chunks, nothing itty bitty and tedious.

Next. BE SURE TO KEEP ALL THESE VEGGIES SEPARATE B/C YOU’LL BE PUTTING THEM INTO THE FOOD PROCESSOR ONE AT A TIME! I threw all of them into a big bowl and then had to separate them out later because I didn’t read far enough into the recipe. I have a bad habit of doing that.

Okay, so now that all these colorful veggies are food processed (nope don’t have pics of that. Dude, it is HARD to take a picture of every little thing! Messy fingers, goop on camera…how DO they DO it?), you can combine them into one big bowl, much like this:

IMG_0263

Then add the liquids (tomato juice/V8, vinegar, olive oil), the garlic (I put mine thru the press), and the salt and pepper.

Then say this word aloud:

PUES….

Because you’re just not quite sure that this is how it’s supposed to look. Is it too chunky? Is this right? Is that ALL you do??

IMG_0264

Then take a spoonful (or five) and give it a taste and say MMmmmmmmmmmmm!!! Good!!!!!

And then take a picture of your devious sous chef as he’s about to explore the pepper canister.

souschef

souschef2

****************************

I have no photos of the plated end-product, because really, when it’s time to eat, it’s just time to eat. It looked very pretty though served in white bowls. With some grilled crusty bread on the side. (Got that idea from Pioneer Woman’s gazpacho recipe…I might try hers some day too).

Result: YUM and YUM. This gazpacho is really really good. It was nice and refreshing on a hot summer day when the last thing I wanted to do was turn on my stove or stand over a flaming grill. I will definitely be making it again.

10 Responses to “gazpacho!”

  1. Weezie June 25, 2009 at 12:41 am #

    I don’t know if the spaniards do it, but I sometimes chop up some jalapeño and throw it in and after I put it in bowl to eat I throw on some (or a lot of) avocado and a dollop of sour cream and then I eat it with blue corn tortilla chips. So many ways to LOVE gazpacho! I’m hungry now.

  2. jen June 25, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    This is a version of Ina Garten’s (the barefoot contessa) recipe that I added my comments too. . If you don’t have one of her cookbooks, you should get one. She is a genius.

  3. Grandma J. June 25, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

    Anne, I loved the gazpacho and the time we shared together. Thanks for inviting me to your table for lunch. It was very filling. Mary

  4. Matt & Heather C w/ Baby James August 10, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Jen,

    This Gazpacho has been fantastic for our re-entry to the home. Liza made your recipe for us and we’re loving it! Thank you very much!

    Matt & Heather Clark w/ Baby James

    • jen August 11, 2009 at 7:02 am #

      I’m so glad! Congrats on your new addition! He’s adorable.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a new addition to the kitchen « She said. She said. - August 14, 2009

    […] now have gazpacho on my mind for this weekend. It seems like an appropriate maiden voyage for my new […]

  2. garden spotlight: tomatoes « She said. She said. - August 24, 2009

    […] 4. Gazpacho […]

  3. gourmet dinner club: tapas edition « She said. She said. - June 29, 2010

    […] been having here in Minnesota. I don’t have Natalie’s recipe, but you can get to my go-to version here. As tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers come into season, this should be a summer staple. Garbanzos and […]

  4. what does one eat on a 300-mile bike tour? « She said. She said. - August 3, 2010

    […] Tortilla Espanola, Gazpacho, Grilled Sausages (regular and faux), […]

  5. gift ideas for the cook in your life « She said. She said. - November 24, 2010

    […] I use it. It comes with blades to shred and slice, plus two different sized bowls. It made making gazpacho a 10 minute task! It’s also quiet (compared to my mini processor) and ultra […]

Leave a Reply

