Strawberries according to Jen

14 Jul

Because I tend to do a lot of things that Anne does, last week I just HAD to go  strawberry picking. I went on a Monday with my newly Doctored friend H. (I doubt that is the right way to phrase that, but she just completed her PhD and is super smart) It was a beautiful day and the strawberries were absolutely gorgeous and delicious! I have never tasted a strawberry that juicy or flavorful from a supermarket. Hmmm…another argument for sourcing from your local farmers. The food produced from your area is way tastier than the same food flown in from across the country or the world. Okay, off my soap box. Back to the main topic.

We maybe ate one strawberry for every one we picked. Okay, not maybe, I’m sure we did. They were just so good. Anyway, we were picking and chatting, picking and chatting,  enjoying the day and before we knew it, we had 43 lbs of berries!

IMG_4141

My sunglasses are doing lots of good in the box with the strawberries.

IMG_4145

She’s a Dr., therefore,  you know she inspected each strawberry to make sure it was perfect.

IMG_4148

This is what 43 lbs of strawberries looks like.

What does one do with this many strawberries?  Well, I ended up with just under 30 lbs of them after H and I negotiated the split.  After freezing a zit load of them, eating so many I thought my skin would turn red, taking a huge bowl to the office and giving some to friends, I made 2 batches of freezer jam, 4 quart containers of puree for sauces down the road, 1 batch of strawberry rhubarb sauce, and one delectable, sweet, and tart strawberry rhubarb pie.

What is it about pie that is just so perfect? Why does everyone love it so? There is just something about it that brings a smile to people’s faces. I love seeing that smile.

Although I love pie, I have not made very many. I might make an apple version every now and again, but that’s about it.  I’m more of a crisp type of baker where you throw a bunch of fruit in a pan, top it with an oatmeal/butter/spice mixture, throw it in the oven and goodness comes out. This was my first Strawberry Rhubarb pie. I chose to follow good ol’ Betty Crocker because she has never done me wrong. I did, however, do something I’m sure Betty would never do.

I used store-bought pie crust.

GASP!

I know this is not like me, but truth be told, I’ve never made a pie crust from scratch. I know, I know, but remember:  I have not made many pies in my life. In this instance, I just wasn’t willing to put in the time to do it.  However, I vow, by the end of the summer, I will make my own (seriously, I know it’s not hard to do). I’m sure that adventure will be a post of its own.  In the meantime, make this pie or some other type of pie. It will make people like you.

Out of the oven - it looked like molten lava coming out of the pie!

Out of the oven - it looked like molten lava coming out of the pie!

Pie

I took my pie to book club which brought many smiles and left me with an empty pie plate.  Every last crumb was devoured.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Adapted from Betty Crocker

Homemade pastry for a Two-Crust pie or the cop-out store bought pie crust.

1 3/4 c. sugar

2/3 c. flour

3 c. rhubarb, sliced into 1/2 inch pieces

3 c. strawberries, sliced

1 Tbsp cold butter

Preheat oven to 425.

Mix sugar and flour into large bowl. Add rhubarb and strawberries. Turn into a pastry-line pie plate.

Cut butter into tiny pieces and scatter across the top. Cover with top pastry, seal and flute (fancy word for crimping the crust). Cut a few slits in the top pastry to let the steam escape. Cover the pie crust edge with aluminum foil and remove during the last 15 minutes of baking (a burnt crust is not delicious).

Bake 50-55 minutes or until crust is golden brown and juice begins to bubble through the slits in crust (I put a sheet of tin foil on the rack below the pie plate – good thing, because it erupted.)

Cool on wire rack for 2 hours or more. Serve warm or at room temp.

This would go great with vanilla ice cream or freshly whipped cream. It is also perfect just by itself.

2 Responses to “Strawberries according to Jen”

  1. Meghan July 18, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    That is an absurd amount of strawberries but dang y’all look sexy pickin’ ’em!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. strawberry jam and more jam and even more jam « She said. She said. - June 21, 2010

    […] Anne’s experience (Pat – will you make strawberry ice cream again? Thanks.) and here is mine, which include a killer strawberry rhubarb […]

Leave a Reply

