An average July day in the Garden….

19 Jul

The garden has gone hysterical.

IMG_5611

Seriously, it looks like it’s on crack. Not that I’m complaining.

We’ve been eating lots of this:

kale and chard

kale and chard

And this:

Basil, Radishes and Carrots

Basil, Radishes, Lettuce, and Carrots

(the carrots were a little young, but I just couldn’t help myself)

And now today, the most beautiful:

Green Beans

Green Beans

Here’s what we are anticipating the most:

IMG_5616

There are literally a zillion green tomatoes on our seven plants. No ripe ones yet, but we run and out and look every day. Okay, maybe we don’t run, but we do walk briskly.

And these:

Peppers

Peppers

Also this week, I went to the Berry Patch to pick these:

IMG_4179

I only took half of them home. The other half stayed with my picking partner, Kiely. I managed to show some restraint after the strawberry extravaganza. I haven’t done anything profound with them yet other than eat them. I did freeze some whole, but that’s about it. They are just so perfect on their own, I can’t get myself to do anything else.

July, August, and September are the three best months to eat local in Minnesota. For that fact, they might be my three favorite months of the entire year. Not only can you get (or grow) quality produce, you can enjoy eating it in awesome weather. If you haven’t been to a farmer’s market yet, please go. I personally prefer the Mill City Farmer’s Market and the Midtown Farmer’s Market. They have completely different atmospheres and vibes to them.  I’m realizing that I may have to do a separate post on Farmer’s Market because there is just so much to say about them and why they are so wonderful.

Which ones do you go to that you think I should check out? I’m now thinking on full-on Mpls market review is in order. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

