Back into the swing of things

6 Aug

I know our huge audience (all 6 of you)  must be wondering where I’ve been and why Anne has been the only one posting. Well, let me bring you up to speed.  Last week I was here with the best biking team one could ask for. Seriously, it is one of my favorite weeks of the summer and it consists of biking, laughing, biking, eating, laughing, singing, dancing, laughing and biking.  Awesome – only word to describe it.  If you want to know more, please ask.

However, this blog is about food, so I’ll try to stick with that.  Here are the best food related photos I have from last week’s adventure.

Gin and Tonic Night

Gin and Tonic Night

Build your own Rueben or Rachel

Build your own Rueben or Rachel

Afternoon Bloody Marys

Afternoon Bloody Marys

Yep, that’s it. Three food (well kind of food) related photos. The week was all about the biking.

IMG_3767

Can you find me in this pic?

So, what does one do after completing a 300-mile bike tour?

Normal people chill out for awhile. I did do a little bit of that  – which to me was a pedicure and a massage. Then Monday came around and the trifecta of entertainment started. We hosted something at our house 3 nights in a row.  Dinner party on Monday night, National Night Out on Tuesday and a casual appetizer gathering on Wednesday.

All were very successful.

Some people get very stressed out when they have to entertain and three nights in a row could put them over the edge. I am not one of those people.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m ready for a quiet night at home, but I love having people over. I think most people like coming over. They know that they will get fed well and that makes me happy.

IMG_4298

IMG_4295

Not the best photo – but don’t they look like they’re having fun?

At this particular party, I made Lamb Burgers. These are a crowd pleaser people. I promise. Make them just for yourself or for a group. Making them for 2 or 12 will take the same amount of time. Plus, they will make people like you.

I first made these tasty treats for Brette who claimed “I don’t like lamb.” He has since changed his tune. He likes lamb. He loves these burgers.

Lamb Burgers with Apricot-Pistachio Relish

adapted from bon appetit

You’ll need:

  • 2  pounds  ground lamb
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt plus more for relish
  • 1 cup diced pitted fresh apricots
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup diced drained roasted red pepper from jar – or a regular red bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons Sherry wine vinegar – use red wine if you don’t have sherry vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped unsalted natural pistachios
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh mint
  • 6 slices (about 1/2 inch thick) sourdough bread – grilled w/ olive oil

Place ground lamb in large bowl; sprinkle 2 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt evenly over. Gently mix in salt and shape meat into 6 patties, each about 3/4 inch thick. DO AHEAD – especially if entertaining. Who wants to be up to their elbows in ground lamb when guests are over?

Mix apricots and next 6 ingredients in medium bowl; season with salt. Mix chopped pistachios and mint into relish.

Spray or oil grill. Prepare grill (medium heat). Place burgers on grill.  Cook burgers to desired doneness and until slightly charred, about 5 minutes per side for medium rare. Top each piece of bread with burger. Spoon relish atop burgers.

4 Responses to “Back into the swing of things”

  1. anne August 7, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    is that you toward the left of the frame, in the foreground? Red tank, black shorts??

  2. Fav Sista August 9, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    I like the liquid meals during bike week. The lamb burgers look awesome. What did you do the other 2 nights of your trifecta? Inquiring minds…..

  3. jen August 9, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    Anne – that is not me.

    Fav Sista – for NNO, we grilled brats and I served cookies. For the apps on Wed, I did tortilla espanola and a cheese plate. Tortilla deserves a post of it’s own.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. life on a bike « She said. She said. - August 2, 2010

    […] Do you remember that I did this last year too? […]

Leave a Reply

