garden spotlight: tomatoes

24 Aug

What started as this……

IMG_5616

Has become this…..

_MG_5710

And just in case you want a closer look at the little guys…..

_MG_5709

Our garden continues to go crazy with all sorts of things, but the gems of the moment are the tomatoes. I have been picking a huge bowl full every other day. So far, we’ve kept up (and given plenty to friends).

I have only one problem plant and it’s not actually the plant that is the problem, but the squirrels that dig it. What is it about san marzano tomatoes that squirrels like so much?  I have now lost three precious tomatoes to those dang squirrels. I may have to let Lily, the squirrel monster, out more often.

lily

Doesn’t she look viscous?

Okay, enough about my adorable dog.

Back to tomatoes!

Here are the top five ways we like tomatoes in our house:

1. BLT’s. Need I say more? This year’s version was a BSCAT (bacon, swiss chard, avocado, tomato).

2. Caprese Salad. Our basil is out of control and fresh mozzarella is always on sale this time of year. You have no choice but to eat this yummy mix. (you can also make this into a great pasta salad)

3. Sliced with a sprinkle of salt.

4. Gazpacho

5. Like an apple.

Tell us what you are doing with your tomatoes – I may need to branch out if my crop persists.

3 Responses to “garden spotlight: tomatoes”

  1. Meghan August 24, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    they are so beautiful! I have ben chopping them up and throwing them on my quinoa with some salt, pepper and olive oil. Or have Caprese with quinoa. Apparently I am into quinoa right now.

  2. weezie August 24, 2009 at 10:18 pm #

    I just used my (few) day old ciabatta leftovers (A Baker’s Wife) and a whole bunch of mini-heirlooms and a ton of basil, italian parsley and such from my herb garden to make . . . Bread Salad. Awesome recipe on Cook’s Illustrated, but you need subscription. Basically chunked bread, tomatoes, herbs, olive oil and I like to use red wine vinegar. Season with sea salt.

  3. Brette August 25, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    Lily seems to think the only way to fix this is to send the squirrels a Soprano’s style message. Given her squirrel chasing success rate of 1 for her life, we may have a long wait ahead of us.

Leave a Reply

