men in the kitchen

1 Sep

This weekend I had not one, but two men hanging out in my kitchen.

My nephew, Sam, is on a short leave from the Army. I know, I know. It’s impossible I have a nephew old enough to be in the Army since I’m such a pup. But, it’s true and he’s awesome. I love hanging out with him. He too, loves food.

Since March, Sam’s been eating crap in the Army and I was determined to get some  food-snobby grub into him and do some cooking together. We accomplished both. Friday, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner that started at 112 Eatery and ended at Sebastian Joe’s. (112 deserves a post of it’s own. If you haven’t been there, please stop reading this and go there immediately. You’ll thank me.  Then come back and read the rest of this.)

Saturday was all about the kitchen.

After a trip to 2 Farmer’s Markets (Mill City and Midtown) and to Whole Foods it was time to get cooking.

First on the list?  Brunch. It consisted of:

IMG_5773French Toast made with Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread topped with fresh ricotta cheese and a drizzle of honey.

_MG_5749

Whisking so fast, you can’t even see the whisk!

_MG_5748

Maple-Glazed Bacon made in the oven. Hands -down the best way to make bacon.

Line a broiler pan with bacon (we like the thick stuff). Bake in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes. Brush bacon with maple syrup (the real stuff) and bake for another 5 minutes. It’s delicious and your house won’t stink like bacon for a week.

_MG_5759

Purple Potato Chips.

_MG_5754

Expert knife skills by an aspiring cheef.

The meal was awesome. Take my word for it. We could not be bothered with photos of the finished product. It just had to be eaten.

Next up? Rhubarb Mousse.

This was Brette’s baby. He’s been threatening to make it for a few months and something about that day was just right.  Maybe because there was a another man to help? It is quite the manly dish.  I had never heard of such a mousse, but what’s not to like? Rhubarb? Yum. Cream? Yes, please.

While the two men attempted this feat, I pretended like I knew how to work Brette’s camera. Warning – these are not great photos, but I had fun pretending I was a professional. These are the shots of men taking over the kitchen.

_MG_5760 This is a classic Brette photo. He’s a recipe follower. Very rarely does he deviate. This is his common look in our kitchen.

_MG_5787

Where is the whisk? Yes, it took 3 hands to get those egg yolks just right.

_MG_5789

Concentrating so hard, the tongue comes out.

IMG_5805

The rhubarb goop.

IMG_5804

The perfectly whipped cream.

_MG_5799The joker and the uber-serious one.

How did the mousse turn out? Extraordinary. We had some right away and it was perfect. Like silk.  I think it would make an excellent spice-cake topping. We also had some later in the day after it chilled. It was a completely different consistency. Very airy and light. Heaven.

I suspect it will be made again.

2 Responses to “men in the kitchen”

  1. Fav Sista September 2, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    I have been waiting for this post! Looks like fun. Sam had such a great time. Thank you so much for inviting him – he loves you both and loved every minute of it!

  2. Fav nephew November 7, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    This is the first time I’ve seen this post since I left. I think it’s great! I still talk about the 112 to my friends! There isn’t much room for the food snobbery up here in southern Canada as I wish there were.. But that’s alright, it makes coming home that much better! Hope all is well love you!

Leave a Reply

