review: a college reunion and Kay’s Kitchen

4 Oct

This weekend was Brette’ 10 year college reunion at SJU. I keep referring it to my 10 year reunion as well, since I went to the sister school CSB. However, they don’t technically do their reunions together (annoying if you ask me) so this was technically his, not mine.

photo

We had a lovely time and saw people we hadn’t seen in….well, 10 years. It was fun to catch up with old friends and great to get excited about Johnnie Football – they won the game in the final 5 seconds.

Brette with his college roomate, BK, on the sidelines.

Brette with his college roomate, BK, on the sidelines.

Before we actually got to campus for the homecoming football game and all of the fun, we met up  with Brette’s brother and his lovely wife for brunch at my favorite college greasy spoon, Kay’s Kitchen.

logo2

Do you ever have those places that you have such awesome memories of and you remember the food being so good and everything about it being perfect and then when you re-visit it 10 years later, it’s just not that great?  That was Kay’s.

Mind you, when I ate there in college, it was typically after a long night of…..hmmm….dancing? Yeah, I’ll go with dancing. And back then, I was not nearly the food snob I am now.

It didn’t start well. We waited patiently at the “please wait to be seated” sign as many a waitress and staff passed us by. When I finally inquired if we were actually supposed to seat ourselves, I was told “The sign says to wait”.

Well, okay then.

I ordered the breakfast special – in fact, it’s been the breakfast special for 35 years. 2 eggs, hash browns, choice of bacon, ham or sausage (I went with bacon) and toast.  I asked for my eggs poached with runny centers. The waitress looked at me a tad strange which made me wonder if she knew what a poached egg was.

When my food arrived everything looked great, except my eggs which had hard yolks. I loathe hard yolks. I do not like hard boiled eggs or any egg where the yolk is remotely hard. It gives me the shivers just thinking about it. I kindly asked the waitress if I could get new eggs and kindly reminded her I asked for runny centers.  She was thrilled as I’m sure you can imagine.

When my eggs finally arrived, everyone else had finished eating. I scarfed them down with their awesome toast. Yes, their bread was great. Truly. The hash browns were nice and crispy as well.  And the bacon….was just bacon.

The other members of our party seemed satisfied with their food (johnnie hash browns, french toast and another special), but it was not anything  memorable.  Good food, just not great food.

I was disappointed that it wasn’t the Kay’s I had in my brain, but it was also under completely different circumstances this time around.  I would go back and wouldn’t hesitate sending people there – just with different expectations.

Note: The rude waitress at the beginning turned out to be the new owner. She somewhat redeemed herself when we were paying our bill. She recognized my last name and actually knew the origin and the meaning of it.

And – she even smiled.

3 Responses to “review: a college reunion and Kay’s Kitchen”

  1. anne October 4, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    EwwwEEWwwwwEEWWWW!!! I hate runny eggs!! I guess this is why we complement each other so well as bloggers:)

  2. Fav Sista October 5, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Nice.

  3. Brette October 8, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    Given the individual components of the Johnnie Hash, I was hoping for more. The key to the toast – good bread and an embarrassing amount of butter. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

