a week of Ellie and the iphone

11 Oct

Now that I’m back in the swing of things, I’m back to writing a menu each week for meals. This week I decided to spend the week with a she said she said favorite, Ellie Krieger.  Both Anne and I have her cookbook, The Food You Crave, and we both have had success with many of her recipes which you can read about here and the failed one here.

This week I tried all new recipes from Ellie. And when I remembered to take pictures of the finished product, I took the photos with my iphone. As I have mentioned before, taking pictures is not something I excel at. I leave that to Anne and Brette – former Community Ed study buddies in photography. This week was an experiment to see how the iphone stood up in terms of a decent camera. It scored high marks in convenience and ease of use.

On to the recipe reviews.

Cowboy Steak with Coffee and Chili Rub

Review: This was a very easy recipe to put together. I had everything in my pantry and it was fast. The only change I made was the use of an Elk steak instead of a beef steak.  I didn’t think the rub did much for the steak. We both agreed that if you have a good quality piece of steak, you don’t need to do anything but olive oil, salt and pepper. I think we’ll stick to that going forward.

Picture? Yep, totally blanked that.

Recommended: No, keep the meat the star, not the rub.

Confetti Chili

Review: This received rave reviews in our house.  The only changes I made was again using elk and I used a quart of my canned tomatoes versus the crushed tomatoes called for.  It was very easy to put together and it tasted great. We ate it all week long for lunches and it tasted even better as the week went on. Plus, it is very pretty to look at.

photo(4)

Recommended: Yes.

Sage Rubbed Pork Chops with Warm Apple Slaw

Review: This makes a lot of slaw. At first I felt like a had daunting task ahead of me with all the shredding/grating of cabbage and carrots that needed to happen. Then I remembered Ruby. Ruby was instrumental in this recipe. However, you could also buy an already packaged slaw mix and save yourself any type of mess.

We both thought this recipe was okay.  The pork was very flavorful and we ate every little bit, but I still have slaw in my fridge.  I don’t think I would make it again.

pork chop

Recommended: Pass, there are better pork chop recipes out there.

Fried Rice with Scallions, Edamame and Tofu

Review: This was very easy to make – it literally took minutes to put together. I had pre-cooked brown rice from Trader Joe’s which made it even quicker. We both really liked this dish. It’s hearty enough to be a meal and is a great vegetarian option.  You could serve it as part of a larger Asian feast.

photo(5)

Recommended:  Yes. Two thumbs up.

Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Review: Amazing. I made these for a party and specifically for my friend, Meghan. Meghan, like me, loves carrot cake. Actually she loves all kind of cake, but this is one of her favorites. It is also one of mine and the type of cake I’d pick for any special occasion.  These turned out perfectly and were super easy to put together. And, they were a huge hit at the party. They will definitely make it into my regular rotation.

Photo? There was no time for a photo. They were that good.

Or, I forgot.

You decide.

Recommended: Yes, make them today.

2 Responses to “a week of Ellie and the iphone”

  1. anne October 11, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    Chiming in as your co-blogger!!

    First- I completely approve of the iphone pictures. I can imagine it’s immensely more handy in the kitchen that pulling out the lug camera.

    Second- OMG I just made that Fried Rice meal myself on Thursday!! This is simply too “Twilight Zone” for me:) However, I had to make a few modifications to the recipe based on what was in my kitchen…and the fact that I don’t buy or eat tofu. So, in place of tofu I used chicken. In place of edamame (ours was freezer burned and nasty) I used green beans, and in place of scallions I used yellow onion. Okay, I guess I changed the entire recipe but whatevs. It got a thumbs up from everyone in our family too, and it’s definitely on the “make it again” list.

    P.S. I thought you hated chili?
    P.S.S. You can make me those carrot cupcakes anytime:)

    • jen October 12, 2009 at 7:44 am #

      That is very twilight zone – we made it on Thursday as well. Cue the creepy music!

      At one point, in college, I did hate chili. However, I have come to my senses and now love it. It is one of my standby meals in the house. Whatever I have on hand goes in!

Leave a Reply

