delicate delicacies

11 Oct

***Before I begin, I need to clarify that it is ANNE writing this post. ANNE HERE!! I do not want to create any confusion; a few readers have mentioned that sometimes they don’t know whether it’s Anne or Jen writing posts. NOTE: If you’re ever wondering who authors a post, just scroll to the end of the post and you will see the word “Categories”. And listed there will be “Anne said” or “Jen said” depending on who wrote that post. Ummmkay?? Because really here, for THIS post, I don’t want to cause any confusion:)***

How shall I put this without coming right out and saying it? How about, I seem to be finding myself in a bit of a ‘delicate condition.’ That works. Okay anyway, this condition has caused my eating/cooking/food-loving tendencies to do a complete 180 over the past 13-ish weeks or so.

Some examples…

Things I’ve craved: red licorice, Campbell’s chicken noodle soup, orange push-ups, PotBelly sandwiches, potato chips, nasty candy, bad restaurant food…

Things that have repulsed me: hamburgers, vegetables, salad, tomatoes, fine dining restaurant food…

Basically healthy eating has gone out the window, quickly replaced by JUST EAT WHATEVER SOUNDS GOOD. And also, the cooking? I’ve never enjoyed cooking, or planning meals, or grocery shopping, but these past few months these tasks have been torture I tell you, TORTURE.

Things are looking up though. (Some) evening meals are sounding appealing again. I ate a salad and lots of veggies over the weekend. And we have a reservation at 112 Eatery this week.

On the flip side, I’m really looking forward to Halloween and the candy I get to raid from my kid’s Trick or Treat haul. I think I could eat at PotBelly every day for lunch if forced. And tonight? Tonight I craved Mexican, and actually asked to dine out at Dominguez Family Restaurant (review to come.)

How does this affect the blog you ask? It really shouldn’t. Although I think I’ll begin a weekly feature entitled “This Week in Cravings.”

***Remember, this post was written by Anne.***

5 Responses to “delicate delicacies”

  1. jen October 12, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    Thank you for clarifying the author – that would not be a good mix-up. :)

  2. Katie October 12, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    I remember those days-my cravings included anything processed…peanut M&M’s, granola bars, string cheese, chocolate pudding. I just couldn’t stomach meats or fruits.

    Potbelly sounds really good…wish we had one around here!

  3. Fav Sista October 16, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Thanks for being very clear Anne, for Jen’s sake. You can imagine the Barrie clan response should that information been miscontrued. Congrats to you though! YEAH!

  4. Jen L October 22, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    I hear you, sistah! Although my buffalo chicken cravings have lessened somewhat, they’ve been replaced with visions of Whopper Juniors. Gross!

  5. Kristin October 23, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    What a fabulous idea for a blog ladies!!

Leave a Reply

