random rant: rustica bakery

4 Nov

Oooooh, I get to rant about something today!! What to choose, what to choose…
Hm, how about the fact that my garage door broke with the car stuck inside? Or the fact that my dog ran away when the repairman came. Food rant though…must think food.

Okay, got it. Rustica Bakery. A great little European-esque bakery in the heart of south Minneapolis and connected to the fabulous Java Jacks coffee shop. Rustica specializes in marvelously delicious pastries, breads and desserts. They are in my top two of Most Favorite Minneapolis Bakeries. So what’s the problem here? Rustica is abandoning their outpost at 46th and Bryant to move into a bigger location in the heart of a STRIP MALL in the uptown area of Minneapolis. In the awful Lake St./Excelsior Blvd/Minnetonka Blvd disaster-zone of a traffic snafu crazy intersection. Have I mentioned they’re moving to a STRIP MALL? Basically what this move means for me is that I will never patronize Rustica Bakery again. And it’s not because out of principal I don’t LIKE that they’re moving to a STRIP MALL (I don’t like that), but it’s mainly due to the fact that currently the bakery is very convenient for me to get to within a few minutes, and the area of town they’re moving into now is not at all convenient for me to get to and it’s in an area where I rarely, if ever, go. Not to mention, they’re moving to a STRIP MALL.

I know they’ll still do great business in their new location, but I kind of doubt they’ll keep many of their south Minneapolis customers because the new location is simply not convenient. (Well maybe this is just my opinion- chime in if you are familiar with Rustica and think otherwise).

I paid what could well be my very last visit to Rustica this morning. Shared a cinnamon bun with Ryan, and brought home a chocolate croissant to share with Pat (because I’m NICE like that).

So long Rustica. Just know you’re bumming me out.

14 Responses to “random rant: rustica bakery”

  1. Amanda November 4, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    I love Rustica too. I used to live right around the corner and am SUPER bummed to hear that it is moving to a STRIP MALL. Yuck. I often go there when I’m in the neighborhood, but no more…
    I’m glad Java Jacks will live on. Their Cafe Miel is my fave!

  2. Fav Sista November 4, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    Never been big into bakeries. I associate bakeries with donuts and because I believe you are what you eat…I have never wanted to be a donut. That said, if I follow my own thinking than I am frosted mini wheats as that is my new favorite start of the day.

    • jen November 5, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

      I love you more than my luggage, but you’re a dork. :)

  3. Fav Sista November 4, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    Oh and one more thing. I am with you on the STRIP MALL thing. It screams tacky in my opinion.

  4. Jackson November 4, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

    I’ve never been. I like Breadsmith in Edina. It is in kind of a strip mall like place but it doesn’t affect the yummy bread they make. The chocolate babka is awesome.

  5. Jackson November 4, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    Sorry about your loss by the way.

  6. Cat November 4, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    Anne- you are wayyy too funny!!The new Rustica location will be closer to my neck of the woods, although that traffic jam are gives me a rash. I will check it out and report back as to their progress.

  7. Liza November 5, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    Not sure where you live Anne but Rustica bread is sold at the Seward Coop. Maybe that would be an option for you to still get your yummy bread fix?

  8. Lee November 5, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    I also love Rustica. It was one of my Sunday desitinations to bike there and grab a baquette or scone on Sunday morning.The good news is their products are stocked at Surdyk’s Deli and Seward Coop.

  9. Weezie November 10, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    Rustica has been a part of so many special events in our family (joking on the sappy tone) but seriously I bring those baguettes to every party I go to. And, I serve them at every party we host. I was so sad the day I read about their move on “The Makings of a Conundrum”:) I’ve recently tried Breadsmith’s baguette, and while it’s not the same, I do like it. And that chocolate babka is dangerous! Does anyone know when the move is planned for? I’ll have to be sure to have a few because sadly will not be making the trek to Uptown even for my favorite baguette in the twin cities.

    • anne November 11, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

      Rustica’s last day in their current location is this Sunday. They’ll be in the new place on November 19th.

  10. Carin November 12, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    Awesome of us in the Mtka/Calhoun/Lake area snafu of traffic congestions. We are super excited for this bakery to open as we do not have a proper bakery in the SLP area…go figure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. food for thought: coffee shops « She said. She said. - November 10, 2009

    […] Java Jacks: If I had to pick a favorite this would probably be it. They are always busy, have a colorful clientele, friendly service, decent chai, and are connected with RUSTICA BAKERY. […]

  2. food for thought: foods you used to hate « She said. She said. - November 4, 2010

    […] One year ago: random rant: rustica […]

Leave a Reply

