random rant: hummus

11 Nov

I must be in a uber positive mood because I can’t think of anything of substance to really rant about. I think of rants as something negative but does it have to be? I don’t think so. This will be a positive rant about one of my favorite foods: hummus.

I love hummus. Really love it. I will always chose hummus when it is available. Creamy, tangy, garlicky, grabanzoy…wait, that probably is not a word, but you get what a mean. If I go long stretches without it, I get antsy and crabby and start to dream about it.

I’m not exactly sure when I first was exposed to hummus, but I do know  it was from my sister, Jackie. She has been a hummus fan for years and as it turns out, my older sis was on to something.  At first, I just thought it was funny that she brought hummus as a veggie dip (we like to tease her on being lactose intolerant), but once I started trying it, it didn’t take long to convert me. I guess I should listen to my sibs more often. They are so darn smart.

Hummus is a traditional Greek food and can often be found on a platter with olives, stuffed grape leaves and of course, pita bread. That is my kind of platter. Try that platter at your next party. Your guests will thank you.

Tonight, I have hummus on the brain.  I just whipped up a batch for a potluck at my office tomorrow where I will serve it with some veggies and pita bread. However, there are many other uses for hummus. Some of my favorites include:

  • as a dip for veggies and pita bread or pita chips (it was worth mentioning twice)
  • sandwich spread
  • on a salad – this was an idea from my friend, Meghan, who introduced me to the Goddess Salad which I will save for a later post, but in the mean time, try hummus on a salad with some lemon juice. You won’t need anything else for a dressing.
  • mixed with tuna to serve on a sandwich or a cracker
  • with a spoon – yep, I’ve been known to do that.

I’ve tried many different hummus recipes and in the process came up with one I like most. The key is to top it with fresh lemon juice right before serving – it makes all the difference.

Jen’s Hummus

3 cloves, garlic

2 heaping Tbsp. Tahini (sesame seed paste sold at most grocery stores)

2/3 C. water

1-2 tsp. cumin depending on your taste (I like 2)

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1/4 C. fresh lemon juice plus more for serving

2 cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

salt and pepper to taste – start with a 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp pepper.

Combine garlic, water and tahini in a food processor or blender (both will work great) and process until garlic is chopped up. Add the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth. Taste for seasonings and adjust to suit your tastes. If it is too thick, thin with water or lemon juice. Please squirt some fresh lemon juice on top before serving…please? You won’t regret it. You could even sprinkle some chopped parsley on top to make it look really fancy.

Interesting add-ins:

Roasted Red Peppers – tonight I added a Fire roasted pepper for a spicy kick. If you do this one, I would decrease the amount of water otherwise it will be to runny. Why do I know this? Because I did not decrease the water and it turned out to runny for my taste.

Pumpkin (canned or pureed from a fresh one) – I’ve really wanted to try this but haven’t done it yet. Have any of you? I think it sounds delish. Maybe with some pumpkin seed kernels on top?

Black beans – substitute one can of chickpeas for black beans and use lime instead of lemon. Serve with tortilla chips.

Curry Powder – swap for the cumin or add a little of both.

Do you any of you have any hummus variations? I would love to hear them.

I love hummus.

7 Responses to “random rant: hummus”

  1. Willa November 11, 2009 at 3:02 pm #

    Yum, I am going to make this tonight!

  2. Fav Sista November 11, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    I am so hungry right now. This sounds awesome and I will make some this weekend – I think the black bean variety – I heart black beans.

  3. Jackson November 13, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    Yes, you laughed at me everytime I brought hummus for veggie dip and I didn’t really care.
    I love hummus. I make it every week to have with my veggies. I am going to try your black bean idea because I also heart black beans.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sugar-free update #4 « She said. She said. - March 17, 2010

    […] I still love dates and they are even better with marscapone cheese. I haven’t needed to make any other swaps or subs lately, though I love the idea of hummus as a sandwich spread. It’s also awesome on a salad (that idea came from Meghan). Come to think about it, I would probably eat hummus with anything.If you’re looking for a hummus recipe, I have one here. […]

  2. a weekend with bloggers | She said. She said. - August 19, 2010

    […] these cute little cucumber cups filled with curried hummus. Yum. I see some variations coming to my classic hummus recipe. I loved the curry flavor. They were topped with a raisin and sliced almonds. Sorry, I failed on a […]

  3. gourmet dinner club: amuse-bouche « She said. She said. - September 24, 2010

    […] If you haven’t tried making your own yet, please go do it right this minute. It will take you about 30 seconds. Need a recipe? I happen to have one here. […]

  4. food for thought: food aversions « She said. She said. - November 11, 2010

    […] Last year: Jen positively ranted about hummus […]

Leave a Reply

