restaurant review: Bagu

16 Nov

This is going to be a lame restaurant review. I’m reviewing a sushi restaurant, and I don’t eat sushi! HA!

Last weekend my cousin was staying with us and she wanted to go out for sushi (which I hate, Pat likes). So we decided to try a restaurant new to us, that is very close to home, Bagu. I confirmed that they served other food aside from the sushi, so we were good to go. This restaurant has been open on Chicago and 48th for a few years now, but I hadn’t heard any buzz about it other than from a few neighbors who had gone. I made a reservation on Open Table that same day, for 7:30pm. (It was a Friday night). We walked in and I realized the reservation wasn’t necessary…while the space is small, only two tables were occupied at the time. Also upon walking in, I was surprised at how brightly lit the place was. It always seemed like it was very dim with some nice ambience going on whenever we’d drive by. I actually said to Pat that it kind of felt like we were entering a McDonald’s.

We were seated at our reserved table near the sushi bar. My sushi-eating companions took their time perusing the sushi menu and discussing the merits of each type. I quickly paged to the “thai dishes” section and decided on the sweet and sour chicken dish, while simultaneously gagging at the thought of eating the raw eel that my dining companions were discussing. For appetizers we ordered the edamame (good), and the vegetable tempura (good). The sushi platter arrived looking lovely…but not lovely enough…I still would not touch it with a ten foot pole. [AND I’m pregnant, for those of you saying I’m no fun and won’t just try the damn sushi already. Sushi is a no-no in pregnancy!! So there!!] My sweet and sour chicken was a bit delayed and arrived a few moments later.

Thoughts on the food: My thai sweet and sour chicken was fine. Nothing special. It was a little heavy on the chicken and light on the vegetables. And the sauce was a little too…saucy. I probably wouldn’t order it again. My dining companions said the sushi was good, but nothing extraordinary. They both said they’ve had better. (Not sure either is a sushi connoisseur, so take that as you will).

Thoughts on the service: The service was friendly. Slightly slow, but not bad.

Thoughts on the ambience: Too bright. Music was odd, and then the music would stop and the place was oddly silent. When we got there at 7:30 the restaurant was pretty empty, but by 8:00ish it had filled up. There were also lots of people stopping in to get take-out.

That’s all I got for ya today. Sorry there aren’t any further details on the sushi. If you care to know more, I’ll ask my husband. Bagu Sushi– I probably won’t be running back.

5 Responses to “restaurant review: Bagu”

  1. chez pat November 16, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    I can chime in on the sushi part….it was decent, but certainly not the best I have had, but not the worst either. The quality was certainly good enough to go back. We ordered the yellowtail, escolar, salmon and eel. We also got the spider rolls and the tuna, salmon, smelt and yellowtail rolls.

    Presentation was alright and the place did fill up nicely. It is a weird space that wasn’t great, but it looks like they have a nice outdoor patio out back that is actually quite big. Would be a nice summer evening place. They also have a decent happy hour of drinks and sushi.

    Would go back if looking for something casual and close by, but if I was going for the sushi there are much better places in town.

  2. Jackson November 16, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    I am not really into sushi myself but I heard that the restaurant Origami is good.

  3. Fav Sista November 17, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    I love sushi. I love really awesome sushi so this does not sound like the place for me. I think sushi is a treat – at least at the places we have had it as it seems we pay a premium so we go for the good stuff. Probably won’t make it to Bagu. Thanks for the addition Pat – that was fun to read what you had but smelt? really???? That cracked me up.

  4. Jen November 17, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    I am no sushi expert but have tried Origami, Kona Grill, and Azia in the Twin Cities area. So far Bagu is my favorite. I encourage people to give it a try, especially if you get the “MoneyMailer” $5 coupons in the mail.

    P.S. The sushi chefs are really funny and the back patio is indeed one of my favorite places to be on a summer evening!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. honey chipotle pecans and other host gift ideas « She said. She said. - November 16, 2010

    […] One year ago: Restaurant Review: Bagu […]

Leave a Reply

