restaurant review: Blue Moon Cafe and other Baltimore hot spots

23 Nov

Recently, Brette and I went to visit some friends out east. We spent some time in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and in Baltimore. It is absolutely gorgeous there. It is extremely mountainous and the countryside is just plain beautiful.

We didn’t do a whole lot of traditional sight-seeing. We were there to see our pals and get to know the area by the food that was available. That is my preferred way to travel.

We ate some fabulous food, especially in Baltimore.  I really liked Baltimore. It had a great vibe with very different neighborhoods and as it turned out they have a great food scene.  My first order of business when we arrived was crab cakes. I had read a recent article in Gourmet Magazine (sigh) about a place in Baltimore called Faidleys. It sits inside the Lexington Market which was bustling when we arrived.

Faidleys has won all sorts of awards and in addition to crab cakes, they have a raw bar, fish market and all sorts of other to-go items. My crab cake did not disappoint. I went with the all-lump version and it was all that and more. With hardly any filler, the crab really took the main stage. I could have gone home right then and been perfectly content.

That afternoon we had decadent chocolate pastries at Meli followed by awesome french food at Petit Louis that evening. I would recommend both places and would happily eat there again.

The best food (in my opinion), came the following morning. One might have thought we would all be in a major food coma from the previous days festivities, but that all went out the window when we got to the Blue Moon Cafe.

We picked this place because it had been very highly reviewed and had made many people’s Top 10 list for breakfast places in Baltimore.  When we arrived at 10 a.m. there was about an hour wait. Thankfully, it was a beautiful sunny day so we grabbed some coffee and hung out outside. Why outside? Because the restaurant is tiny and there is not one bit of waiting space inside.

See? It was fun waiting outside.

The atmosphere inside was very nice. It felt like someone’s home: A little eclectic, lots of bustling and the smells of home cooking.  There are about 10 tables in the space – most of them 2 and 4 tops but 2 that could accommodate up to 6.  The service was great considering how crazy they are. Our waitress was very attentive and extremely pleasant.

But I don’t really care about any of that as much as I do the food.

Here’s what we ordered.

All: We started with an appetizer of a cinnamon bun. It came to the table warm and gooey. It was a bit different from your everyday cinnamon roll in terms of texture. This one was more cake-like with a fine crumb instead of a more doughy roll. It was awesome and it left us all licking our fingers. I’ll take another please.

Henriet: Eggs Benedict

Verdict? She was very pleased. In fact, I don’t think she talked very much – she was too busy enjoying. I’m not a benedict fan, but Henriet said this was a good one and despite the heavy ingredients, it tasted very light.

Jon and Brette split 2 of the daily specials.

Special #1:Omelet with crab, sausage, black beans, jalapenos, cheese and most likely some other things I’m forgetting.

The Verdict:  What’s not to like? It has everything you would ever want inside. They were both very happy and nothing was left on the plate.

Special #2: Captain Crunch French Toast

The Verdict: This is a dish they are famous for. Every review I read talked about this dish. Brette LOVES french toast and this one only strengthened his love. It was coated in crushed captain crunch – one of his favorite childhood cereals. It’s a very nostalgic dish for that reason and it makes you feel like a kid while you eat it. It also had great flavor and soaked up just enough maple syrup which is a major bonus. Again – nothing left.

I ordered: Pumpkin Pancakes with nutmeg spiced cream.

The Verdict: It was worth the cost of my plane ticket. They were amazing. I love pancakes and these would easily make my top five. There was a very distinct pumpkin flavor in the cake with all of the traditional fall spices and the smell was intoxicating. The nutmeg cream was so good, I was tempted to throw some in my purse, but that would’ve been a little gross. I only needed about half of what was served but it was one of those dishes where you just had to go for it. I could not leave a crumb on my plate. It was just that good.

It was worth being miserably full. Worth every bite. This would be my number one pick for where to eat if you’re ever in the area.

 

Baltimore – the next time I visit, I will bring bigger pants.

4 Responses to “restaurant review: Blue Moon Cafe and other Baltimore hot spots”

  1. Jackson November 23, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    Oh my. I feel like I gained a couple pounds just reading about what you ate. Everything sounds great except the french toast. I loved Captain Crunch as a kid and I love french toast but the two of them together isn’t doing it for me.

  2. kristi November 24, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    I want pumpkin pancakes! They sound amazing :)

  3. Fav Sista November 24, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    I too want pumpkin pancakes with that cream! Wow. Sounds awesome! I am not big into crab cakes so that was not enticing although glad you enjoyed it. The chocolate pastries however, you had me at pastry. That looks absolutely decadent! I want to go to Baltimore now! Anyone for a roadtrip?

  4. Lara November 24, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Blue Moon might be worth the hour drive on a Sunday morning to Bmore! Glad you enjoyed the trip East.

Leave a Reply

