random rant: pre-holiday grocery shopping

25 Nov

It’s no secret I hate grocery shopping. Imagine my distaste for shopping in the day or two leading up to a major food holiday, such as Thanksgiving for example. I went to Lunds yesterday morning to pick up a few miscellaneous items. And let me just say it’s a good thing I was in a good mood, that my kid was happy, that I wasn’t in a rush, and was thinking only happy thoughts through the store, because if anything had been slightly wrong in my world, I probably would have gone majorly bananas during the shopping trip. The place was a zoo- although nothing compared to what I’m sure it will be like today. The store was teeming with old people- and I have NOTHING against old people!!! But couple the elderly shoppers with the soon-to-be-elderly checkers and the already-elderly baggers/carry-outs*, and that makes for some VERY long, slow-moving lines. Again, I must reiterate it was a fabulous blessing that my kid was in a good mood yesterday morning.

I pity the fools that will be out grocery shopping today. May I suggest a glass of vino or a mild sedative before you enter the store.

*I must give props to my awesome carry-out man!! He noticed my ginormous plastic sack filled with plastic bags taking up the entire back end of my car, and asked if he could haul them inside the store to be recycled. Because no matter what, I always forget to bring them in with me to shove into the plastic bag recycling bin.

4 Responses to “random rant: pre-holiday grocery shopping”

  1. Fav Sista November 25, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    I am not a crowd person. If we had a good grocery delivery service out here in rural America, I would be on board! My rant is that if I need any last minute items today, my local grocery (of which I am so thankful we have a grocery store in my little town as neighboring town stores have closed in recent years) many times is out of what I need. For example, last week I wanted to pre make a dessert to try as I have never made it before. It requires a can of pumpkin. A week before Thanksgiving, there was not one can of pumpkin in our local grocery store. Now, it is “that time of the year….hello, Thanksgiving!” and you would think they would stock up extra with their pumpkin??? But nooooo (said like John Belushi from SNL).. not one can. Needless to say, no trial run occurred so the family will be the guinea pigs! That is my rant. Sorry to go on and on – apparently, this topic pushed a button – a very fresh button.

    Thanks Anne, I needed to get that out! ;0)

  2. Fav Sista November 25, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Just a quick add. While home for lunch, realized I have no evaporated milk and I need to make pie tonight. This is going to take me to my local grocery – I’m nervous. Crossing my fingers that they have some!

  3. Jackson November 25, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    I have to go pick up something from the grocery store tonight that I forgot yesterday. DANG! I need garbonzo beans for hummus. I don’t think that is a popular item for Thanksgiving shoppers so I’m thinking my store will have it. Crossing my fingers just in case.

  4. Kris November 26, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    I feel your pain! I, too, was forced to make a last minute run and all I can say is that it was a good thing that my first two stops were SO pleasant (St. Paul Farmers Market and then the Olive Grove in Mendota Heights) that I just barely managed to survive Byerly’s and Cub.

Leave a Reply

