departed bakery update

1 Dec

Here I am blogging, and I don’t even have to. I KNOW!!!!

I just had to post an update on the current state of things at Java Jacks since the departure of Rustica. (I’m sure others could speak to this better than I– those that frequent JJs on a daily basis for example). I was at JJs yesterday about 10:00am. Where Rustica used to be, there is now a seating area. My chai tea was only lukewarm, and I didn’t even have a delicious euro pastry to go with it. I ate a banana instead. JJs is now selling a selection of pastries from Salty Tart, but I didn’t try one. I was too depressed that I couldn’t have a cinnamon bun bun or a choc croissant. And, maybe it was simply a Monday-morning-after-a-long-holiday-weekend phenomenon, but the place was pretty empty. I’m used to going there on a weekday around 10:00 and having a hard time finding a table, but yesterday that was no trouble at all. I just have to wonder if it’s because Rustica is no longer.

(((Also, what’s happened to Java Jack’s web page??)))

4 Responses to “departed bakery update”

  1. jen December 2, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    I have heard that pastries from the Salty Tart are really good. However, it is just not the same. Has anyone been to the new Rustica?

  2. anna December 2, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    i have been to the new rustica and it is fabulous!! of course the baked goods are reliably the same great quality and delicious and the bull run coffee is very good….very tasty! and salty tart pastries are in the same league, in my book. michelle and staff make great things, i am never disappointed. feel free to try them….and enjoy!!

  3. anne December 2, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    I had a Salty Tart scone today at JJs. It was good! And, more business there today than Monday morning. It must have been a case of the Mondays…

  4. Jackson December 4, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

    Speaking of baked goods I love the chocolate babka at The Breadsmith. I also like their blueberry cornmeal muffins when they are in season and just about everything else they make.

Leave a Reply

