an ode to oatmeal

7 Dec

I love oatmeal.

Really love it.

I eat it for breakfast 98% of the time.

It’s good for you, it’s easy, I can make it at my office, it’s filling…..and it’s delicious.

At this time of year where single digit and sub zero temperatures are the norm, I love it even more. It’s so comforting and homey – perfect for a cold day or night. I could easily eat oatmeal for any meal of the day. It’s just that good.

I’m not talking about the pre-flavored with all sorts of god-knows-what pre-packaged kind. I’m talking straight oats mixed with all sorts of goodness. Over the years, I’ve created a lot of different mix-ins for my oatmeal that give me all sorts of options each morning.

I usually start with 1/3 – 1/2 cup dry oats and double that amount of water. It can be done on the stove top or in the microwave.  When I’m at work, I will usually stick to that and top it with some cinnamon, honey and plain yogurt. That is my stand-by. However, sometimes I like to mix it up a bit.

If I’m feeling like I need some added protein (for all the iron I’m pumping), I will throw in an egg white or 2  in the oatmeal while it cooks. It makes my muscles feel important. Thanks to my pal, L, out east for sharing that tip!

Here are some of my favorite mix-ins:

  • 1/4-1/2 cup canned pumpkin (I mix this in halfway through the microwave process), cinnamon, agave or maple syrup and a little yogurt. Fall in a bowl.  If I have them, pomegranate seeds are a nice addition to this version.
  • Frozen mixed berries (halfway through the process), yogurt.
  • Any fresh seasonal fruit with yogurt or milk
  • A granola sprinkle – for a little crunch
  • Any type of homemade jam – I have a massive amount of strawberry freezer jam at the moment
  • Cocoa powder, egg white, peanut butter, yogurt and a bit of agave – sprinkle of grape-nut type cereal (pictured below). It’s almost too good.

Do I have any fellow oatmeal lovers out there? How do you like to prepare it? Any combonations I should try?  If you don’t like oatmeal, is there another thing you eat almost every day? Please tell me I’m not alone…..

9 Responses to “an ode to oatmeal”

  1. Fav Sista December 8, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    I love oatmeal too and had some this morning in fact. I kept it very simple with just raisins but I love those in oatmeal so it is my favorite. I have used other fruit and tried the pumpkin once – I think I added too much and it was over powering. I will add nutmeg and honey on occasion and have also tried the granola topper. Thanks for the egg white suggestion! Wow, that sounds really good right now although I am still full from my morning oatmeal!

  2. Ann December 8, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    I use to not like oatmeal. It was a texture thing. In fact, somedays it’s still the texture that brings on the gag reflex. I also had a bad chilhood experience with oatmeal….I’ll let everybodys imagination run with that one. Anyway, when I can handle oatmeal, I’ll mix in honey or frozen fruit. I never thought of raisins…Yum!! I will try it. Has anyone tried the steel cut oats? Are they worth the extra cost?

  3. Lara December 8, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    Glad you like the eggy oats! It is a staple of mine (as you know)

  4. Kris December 8, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    I’m not an oatmeal fan…something about the texture I think, but lately I’ve frequently been enjoying mushroom frittatas. One batch makes four servings and it can be eaten either warm, or straight from the fridge. I’ve been playing with the recipe a bit, trying out dried mushrooms in place of the fresh, feta instead of parmesan, adding in some garlic. http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1924724

  5. Fav Sista December 9, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Ann – yes, I tried the steel cut oats as I had a recipe that made them in the crockpot as we slept – very cool. They turned out fine but were not any better than regular oats in my opinion. They seemed heartier – thicker than regular oats but tasted pretty much the same.

  6. anne December 9, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Ew, just reading about oatmeal makes me start gagging. I’ve never liked it- never have, never will. I’ve even tried eating it a few times for breakfast over the past couple years with Ryan, but nope, it’s not happening.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a weekend with bloggers | She said. She said. - August 19, 2010

    […] Saturday morning breakfast was sponsored by Quaker. You may know that I have a mad crush on oatmeal so when I saw the oatmeal bar, I was giddy with glee. Huge trays of berries, plain greek yogurt and […]

  2. pumpkin oatmeal « She said. She said. - September 30, 2010

    […] I’ve been enjoying pumpkin oatmeal. As you may know, I’m a big fan of oatmeal. The pumpkin version of oatmeal is super easy and such a treat. It screams fall. Please try it. […]

  3. stocking the kitchen: pantry « She said. She said. - March 1, 2011

    […] supplies – yes, this deserves it’s own category. I eat oatmeal almost every day, plus I go through a ton of oats in aforementioned granola. I buy both the regular rolled oats and […]

Leave a Reply

