restaurant review: true thai

15 Dec

5:00pm, Sunday evening. We found ourselves at True Thai as a result of my fried egg roll craving and our desire to try a different restaurant. Hasn’t this place won a bunch of City Pages awards? Or something? I feel like I’ve heard hype about this restaurant somewhere… anyway, we were expecting greatness. {Here is it…Zagat rates it as one of Mpls’ top ten.}

Like I said, we arrived at 5:00pm. There was some minor chaos going on with the hostesses, so it took us a few minutes to get seated. And when we did we were placed at what I’d call one of the worst tables in the place, right by the front door. Even though there were plenty of other tables available in this surprisingly large restaurant. We thought it was perhaps because we were with-child, but later a solo couple came in and they were seated at the other worst table in the restaurant. Anyway, the waiter brought us out two waters, but nothing for the kid. I asked if they had milk- they did not, which is so no big deal (I would not expect an Asian restaurant to have milk- we were offered half and half though- ha!), but then when I asked for a water for the kid, it was never brought out to us. Another beverages disappointment…no pot of tea brought to the table. I thought it was a given that if you order tea at an Asian restaurant they’ll set a pot of tea out and it’s an all-you-can drink tea free for all. Nope, Pat and I each got our own cup of tea and that was that.

Since I had the egg roll craving we ordered the fried egg rolls and the spring rolls as appetizers. The fried egg rolls were nothing special; the spring rolls were really good. As for meals, I ordered the wok-fried 7 vegetable rainbow medley, and Pat had the masaman curry. I know I’m not that adventurous when it comes to ordering Asian dishes, but my meal was just kind of “meh.” It was good, there were lots of fresh vegetables and a nice ratio of veggie to protein, but it was nothing amazing. (Also, I had a piece of moldy-tasting green pepper than I had to spit out- blech). Pat said the curry was good.

Overall, the service was pretty slow, except for our dinner entrees which came out just moments after we had gotten our appetizers. The restaurant seemed to be run by a cadre of giggly teens that night; at one point the dining area went nearly black when one teen worker accidentally hit the dimmer switch and didn’t realize it. It took a while to get our bill, and a very long while to run the credit card. Basically, we were not that impressed. Could have dealt with the so-so service if the food had been fabulous. Definitely not a very kid-friendly restaurant either. Again, I do not expect nor want all restaurants to be kid-friendly, but I would think that a mid-priced casual thai restaurant could be. Would I go back?? Maybe. But not anytime soon.

6 Responses to “restaurant review: true thai”

  1. jen December 16, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    I recently ate there for the first time. I was there for lunch. The service was fine, not great. My food was great though. I had the Tom Yum soup and it was perfect for a cold MN day. My friends enjoyed their food as well.

    I totally agree on the tea! I had to ask for refills – I just wanted to grab the pot and put it on the table.

  2. bearing December 16, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I’ve never been served all-you-can-drink tea at any Thai restaurant. Not all Asian restaurants are Chinese.

  3. shogunmoon December 16, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    Thai restaurants do not serve the all you can drink tea. Asia is a big place, with a lot of different customs :)

    Thai people also generally do not use chop sticks. They do if they are eating a noodle soup.

  4. Susan December 18, 2009 at 12:57 pm #

    We had great food at lunch – the service was very eh….. I’m thinking it might be a fantastic takeout option.

    The other diners almost all had the lunch buffet and seemed to enjoy it a lot.

  5. Christopher December 20, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    Zagat routinely over-rates Thai restaurants. What is with that?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. December 16 Morning Roundup « The Heavy Table - December 16, 2009

    […] reports on Subo, Rachel honors her sweet tooth and gets out to Sugar Sugar and Sweets Bakeshop, a lukewarm-to-hostile blogger review of the normally adored True Thai, the Well Fed Guide to Life dines at Vincent, and Kate gives away […]

Leave a Reply

