cookies volumn 2: grandma’s date-filled

19 Dec

I’ve given away most of my cookies. It’s a good thing…at least for my hips. It is hard to believe that cookie day is a week old. I had meant to do 3 cookie posts this week but I guess 2 will be my magic number. Everyone okay with that?

I’d like to feature my favorite cookie today. This is a recipe that comes from my great-grandmother. They do not have a flashy name and they don’t need one. They are simply Grandma’s Date -Filled Cookies.

When I copied the recipe from my grandmother’s recipe card, I had to chuckle. It assumes a lot with its very vague directions. I love that. I’ll write it here with more detailed comments that well hopefully be  helpful.

These cookies are beyond good. Many people tell me they don’t like dates. In fact, I think I said that about myself. Regardless, you will like these cookies. Trust my grandmother. She was a wise soul.  I think of her every time I eat one of these cookies, which I think makes them taste even better.

My sister, Joan, is the master of baking these cookies. She’s responsible for them each year. I love her for that. I love her for other reasons too, but for now, it’s because of these cookies. I know she will fill in any details that I might miss. She’s good like that.

Grandma’s Date Filled Cookies

For the cookie:

1 1/4 c. sugar

1 c. (2 sticks) butter at room temperature – please do NOT substitute

2 eggs

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 c. sour cream (full fat please – these are cookies for pete’s sake)

4 c. flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

For the Filling:

1 8 oz package, pitted dates

water

1/3-1/2 c. sugar – start with 1/3

Filling:

In a medium pot, add pitted dates and sugar and cover with water. Cook until mushy (direct grandmother term) – about 15-20 minutes. Cool completely.

Cookie Dough:

Cream together sugar, butter and eggs in a stand mixer or a hand-held mixer.

Add the rest of the ingredients until well combined. Taste the dough (you know you want to) and then either chill in the fridge until ready to use or get started.

Preheat oven to 350.

Roll out dough with a rolling pin until about 1/4 inch thick. Cut into circles with a circular cutter (is that the right term?). Like this:

Drop about a tablespoon of filling onto the cut dough.

Now you can do one of two things. Y0u can cover it with another circle of dough and press the edges, or you can do a half-moon style and fold over your circle. If you do the half-moon you may want to use a little less filling.

Transfer to a baking sheet and bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes. Start with 10 minutes.  Take them out when there is just hint of brown around the edges (just a hint!). No longer than 12 minutes.

You can see the finished product below. I did not take any close-ups of the finished product (sorry!). They are the cookies directly in front of my cute sister with the gingerbread shirt.

My dad tried really hard to take a focused photo (thanks dad!) and he came very close. My mom looks a bit annoyed, but I think she was sick of the photo taking.

Here are a few other photos of cookie day that I really like. Hopefully they help get you in the holiday spirit.

So colorful!

Gingerbread mittens – adorable.

Accidents – they happen.

Happy cookie baking everyone!

5 Responses to “cookies volumn 2: grandma’s date-filled”

  1. Fav Sista December 19, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    I love these cookies!!

  2. Jackson December 19, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    It’s one of my all time favorites along with my gingerbread cookies. Now I think I need to go eat one of each.:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The ‘Tis the Season Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table - December 21, 2009

    […] Grandma’s Date-Filled Cookies, cardamom pistachio butter cookies, tropical holiday cookies, sugar plums, homemade caramels, raspberry thumbprints, the Hillbilly Christmas, and Ravioli di Zucca pa’ Natale. var addthis_pub = "heavytable"; var addthis_options = 'favorites, digg, delicious, stumbleupon, twitter, facebook, reddit, more'; var addthis_brand = "The Heavy Table"; […]

  2. She said. She said. - December 6, 2010

    […] make.  All of our classics will be represented: sugar cut-outs, gingerbread, peanut blossoms, date-filled, dipped pretzels, and my dad’s favorite, the date […]

  3. there were cookies…but no cookie day « She said. She said. - December 11, 2010

    […] and as for my sister Joan, who was making my favorite cookie (the date-filled)… her oven broke this morning! Talk about pouring salt in a wound. Sorry Joan! I hope the […]

Leave a Reply

