the best salad dressing ever

23 Dec

I wanted to get in a quick post before the storm of the century shows up here in MN to tell you about the best salad dressing ever.

I know. That’s a pretty bold statement. However, it’s pretty awesome so it might just be the best you ever had.

Do you have to bring a salad to Christmas or New Year’s? If so, this is a great one to bring and an absolute crowd pleaser. We have had it many times at family gatherings and it’s one of the things I look forward to.  I happen to have these ingredients on hand regularly so it’s easy to put together in those “oh my gosh, I need to bring a salad!” moments.

This recipe came from my sister-in-law, Lynn. She’s an awesome sister-in-law and a great cook. She got this recipe from someone else, but since I don’t know them, all the credit is going to Lynn. Thanks Lynn!

Maple Mustard Vinaigrette

This recipe makes a ton, but keeps well in the fridge. You could also 1/2 the recipe. I personally love having the leftovers.

In a food processor or blender, blend the following until pureed:

2/3 C. maple syrup

1/3 C. apple cider vinegar

2 shallots, chopped

2 cloves garlic, smashed

1 Tbsp. dijon mustard

1 Tbsp. coarse mustard

1/2 Tsp. salt

1 Tsp pepper

Slowly add 1 C. extra virgin olive oil.

I think this goes fabulous with mixed greens, blue cheese, dried cranberries, toasted walnuts and if you dare, chopped crisped bacon. You could certainly add other things that make sense to you. Broccoli? Mushrooms? Sure! However, if you are in doubt, go with the blue cheese/dried cranberries/walnuts route. You can’t go wrong.

Add dressing to salad mix a little at a time until your desired state of coating. Serve immediately after tossing the salad.

Keep the rest in the fridge to enjoy through the week.

I have no pictures of this salad dressing to share with you, but I have one of my cute dog.

Merry Christmas!

6 Responses to “the best salad dressing ever”

  1. Jackson December 28, 2009 at 12:28 am #

    I’m going to have to try that one. I made the one you gave with the orange muscat vinegar and tossed it with butter lettuce mix, dried cranberries, cherries and some cut up figs and pears. Yum! Thanks for that.

  2. anne December 28, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Muskrat vinegar? Is that something Brette captured on a hunting trip?

  3. Lynn December 29, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    Wow, thanks for the nice words Jen. I love that salad dressing too. Thanks for the wine stopper/pourer and the muscot vinegar. I haven’t tried it yet, but am sure it’ll be tasty.

  4. Mary B. January 3, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Love this dressing! I used it on a salad with smoked salmon. The maple and mustard flavors were delish with the salmon. Thanks for sharing.

    p.s. I’m a friend of Anne’s from high school.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interstitial Xmas/New Year Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table - December 29, 2009

    […] sliders; wassail tea; vegetarian chilaquiles; easy-fix chicken quesadillas; maple mustard vinaigrette; spinach, morel and sun-dried tomato bread pudding; baked eggs with mashed potatoes and leeks; and […]

  2. sugar bushing « She said. She said. - April 15, 2010

    […] Maple Mustard Vinaigrette […]

Leave a Reply

