food goals for 2010

1 Jan

2010.  A new decade. Can you believe it?

I thought first about writing a best of list or a recap of 2009, but who wants to live in the past?  So, instead, we are going to lay our food goals for 2010.  I’m going to take a wild guess that Anne and I will have very different goals or thoughts about this but that’s why we make such a good pair!

Jen’s 2010 Food Goals

1. Know where my meat comes from….when at all possible.  The meat I purchase for the house will come either from 1) Brette or other family member’s hunting expeditions or 2) farmers at the market or those that sell to the local co-op or grocery store.  After reading Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan’s books, and watching Food, Inc. , I just have to draw a line for myself. I want to know my beef/chicken/pig was treated decently, handled and processed safely, and isn’t full of crap.

Outside my house, I will make my best effort, but I will not be “that gal” that turns down a home-cooked meal from a pal because I’m not sure where the chicken came from, ya know?

2. Make my own yogurt. I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time and don’t know what I’m waiting for. I have the instructions and I know it’s not hard, I just need to do it. I’m hoping that writing it as a goal will be a good motivator.

3. Cook a lobster. One of those things that I just think I should do and rumor has it – it’s easy! Plus, I got a huge stockpot for Christmas that will work perfect.

4. Make more bread. Practice makes perfect right? Well, I need a lot of practice. I’m vowing to bake bread (of some kind) once a month.  I will chart my progress on she said. she said. You heard it here first.

5. Can two new things. I have successfully canned tomatoes, sweet pickles and beets. I want to do more. I’m thinking maybe jam and some type of pickled vegetable. Now that I have this whole gardening thing down, I really want to preserve more. Or as they said back in the day, put up some food for the winter.

6. Eat at the following restaurants: Restaurant Alma, Lucia’s and Sea Change. Why have I not been to any of these yet???

I don’ t know about you, but I think 2010 is going to be a great year. I just have a feeling.  I’m excited to tackle these goals, but more excited to eat the results!

Anne, what do you have cooking for your food goals?

ANNE SAYS:

Heh, heh. Funny you should ask. My food goals are not monumental.

1. Make my own granola. I know, this is supposedly so easy. Recipes are everywhere (including right on this blog!) It’s more  a matter of choosing a recipe, making a list, and shopping for the ingredients.

2. Eat out at the following restaurant: Bar La Grassa. Apparently this restaurant is WHERE IT’S AT. StarTribune named them restaurant of the year for 2009.

3. Get out of my cooking funk.

4. Eat some fine meals over at Jen’s house. (smiles:)

5. Prepare some ‘meals-in-advance’ to have on hand in the freezer once this Baby #2 arrives. I didn’t prepare any meals in advance with kid #1; I’m not sure why, but it would have made things a lot easier.

6. Survive. (See above: Baby #2. Need I say more?)

*********************************

And now just a couple of outtakes- She Said, She Said style- from twenty ought nine.

What about you? Any food-related goals for 2010? Please share!

12 Responses to “food goals for 2010”

  1. Susan January 2, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Going to BLG tonight – its at North Washington and 8th. (old babalu space)

    I highly recommend it.

    J – you’ve never been to Alma? Its seriously the best ever.

    Let me know if you need me to help with the lobsters. I can hypnotize them prior to boiling them alive. Trust me on this one. (my g’dad was a lobsterman)
    Don’t get big ones. 1 1/2 pounds each tops.

    Yogurt is easier than Ricotta. But I still don’t do it. Maybe I need some goals too.

  2. Heather Campbell January 3, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Great blog! I love the goals too. Ditto the know your meat objective for sure! Clancey’s meat market in Linden Hills has been a great source for those of us who don’t have any gun toting partners ;o)
    You will love Lucia’s! Check out the website before you go. The menu is small and changes weekly to reflect local ingredients that are available. Alma is delicious too. I used to work with Alex (head chef) at a different restaurant and he is a class act. Sea Change is on my “to do” list as well! Yum. Plenty of food adventures for 2010!

  3. Meghan January 3, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    pick me, pick me!! I want to go to Lucia’s:)

  4. Kari January 3, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Love the blog and right w you on the meat!!! I too will share w you sources for meat local and humanely raised. I would happy participate w you onbread mAking. Call me.

  5. Jackson January 3, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    I haven’t made any food goals so will keep track on how yours goes. Let me know if you need me to come over to taste test or help make jam. I have made that before. Have you thought about pickled green beans?

  6. Fav Sista January 4, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Goals are great to have. Love that you both put them out there. My one food goal for 2010 is to start a food journal. I need to write it down, not enter on the computer as that is not portable for me so I have a notebook to log everything I put into my mouth.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jen’s summer granola « She said. She said. - February 28, 2010

    […] one of my few food goals for 2010 was to make my own granola. I decided to use Jen’s recipe from last summer when Brette ran […]

  2. making yogurt « She said. She said. - March 6, 2010

    […] Amy, started talking about it. I’ve been wanting to try it ever since and even made it one of my food goals for 2010. Why would I want to do this? Well, I love yogurt. I eat it every day. Sometimes twice.  […]

  3. restaurant review: restaurant alma « She said. She said. - April 25, 2010

    […] would put it off for an even more important occasion. However, this year I decided to make it one of my food goals.  I’m good at achieving goals so I knew this would get me there. Then, my friend Liza (who […]

  4. summer challenge: going veg « She said. She said. - June 1, 2010

    […] Food, Inc. and Fresh were extremely eye opening for me.  I highly recommend all of them. One of my food goals for 2010 is to only eat meat when I’m aware of where it came from and I’ve been very successful. […]

  5. food for thought: foods you are scared to make « She said. She said. - November 18, 2010

    […] have a few….cooking a lobster being first on the list. It’s one of my food goals for this year and I still haven’t tried it. From everything I’ve heard, it’s not […]

  6. the night I cooked a lobster « She said. She said. - December 23, 2010

    […] Dec A few weeks ago, I was looking back at my Food Goals for 2010. I realized there was a big one in the mix that I had not yet […]

Leave a Reply

