the next 40 days…..

16 Feb

I will be sugar free.

Ouch. It kind of hurts just to write that.

Every year I give up something for lent because I enjoy the challenge.  I like to test my will power every now and again – just for fun. In the past I have given up things like partially hydrogenated oils (before it was the cool thing to do and I still avoid it like the plague), high fructose corn syrup (I’ve never looked back on that one either), meat, and all things white.

My friend, Meghan, is joining me. She’s cool like that and let’s face it: it’s more fun to be miserable when you’re with a friend. She has joined me in all my Lenten challenges.

So, what does this entail? Just what it sounds like. No sugar or other added sweeteners like honey or maple syrup.  The natural sugars in things such as fruit is just fine.

I’m feeling good about this one. I have reminded myself that it is only for 40 days and it certainly can’t hurt my health or my figure. With that said, I will really miss the agave I put on my oatmeal…the honey I like on my greek  yogurt…my homemade granola…and Lindt Dark Chocolate with Sea Salt. Have you tried that? You should.

So, what did I eat on Fat Tuesday? Big tubs of ice cream topped with chocolate? Not so much. However, I did have a scrumptious dinner that will be blogged about shortly. Here’s a sneak peak.

I also made up a batch of Banana Maple Oatmeal Cookies, which I found over at Fat Free Vegan. For the record, I’m not a vegan and I love fat.  I also don’t discriminate when it comes to food. She has some interesting recipes and this one is worth a try. I happened to have all of the ingredients at home when I came across the recipe and thought it only fitting I have one last sweet treat before lent begins. Okay,  so I had three of these sweet treats. And I enjoyed every one of them and wouldn’t mind another.

Hey – it’s Fat Tuesday!

6 Responses to “the next 40 days…..”

  1. anne February 17, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Oh my god, Jen, you are insane. My condolences at the loss of sugar. (Q: Are you allowed, or not allowed, to drink a diet soda?)

  2. Megsp February 17, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    so how do we blog on your blog about our adventure. I want all your readers to offer us up sugar free yummy alternatives like mashed bananas in oatmeal. raisins in everything:) you know….

  3. Jackson February 17, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Wow. Have fun with that.

    Megan – Not just raisins but dates and dried figs are also very tasty. I also think a little nutmeg or cinnamon in oatmeal would also be yummy with the mashed bananas.

  4. Fav Sista February 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    Jen and Megs – have a great time with your challenge. Wow – ambitious. So, on Easter Sunday will we find you two with chocolate smeared lips and multiple chocolate bunnies missing their ears??????

  5. Jason March 6, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I’m impressed. I got hungry just reading your list of final goodies before the sugar fast. I cannot wait to hear what you dine on the first day after lent has concluded.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. summer challenge: going veg « She said. She said. - June 1, 2010

    […] Meghan (who is laughing right now that I’m becoming so enlightened), and myself have done many Lenten challenges that have included no high fructose corn syrup, no partially hydrogenated oils and most recently no […]

Leave a Reply

