sugar-free update #3

10 Mar

3 weeks in! We are almost half way. Here’s how we’re holding up….

MEGHAN:

Thank GOD we are into week three. I can honestly say I am finally over my cravings. It took 2.5 weeks, but I think I’ve found a good balance and some good substitutes to keep me cool.

I am, dare I say, starting to be happy about this challenge. I feel a tiny bit better physically.  I’m glad that I am forced to take a deep look at what I put into my body. It is scary how much sugar we consume on a daily basis. I never thought anything like that would ever come out of my mouth, especially during those first days of week one!

Things I’m craving that I can’t have:

When I mentioned above that my cravings have subsided, I probably should have mentioned it is due to the fact that I caved on Friday and had a 7 n’ 7 or two or… well…3. I don’t even feel guilty about it. I had truly been craving them so bad that I was shoving all types of stuff into my mouth to help make the cravings go away. Now the craving is gone… and hopefully it will stay away.

Non-sweetener substitutes that you love (or any that just didn’t work):

Tea Source Spice Tea-I cold brew it and it gives me that extra little pick me up I crave in the afternoons. It’s sweet, spicy, orangey and delicious. La Croix water is my new favorite beverage. It helps me pretend I am drinking soda without the yucky stuff.

Accidental (or not) cheat moments:

See note above under ‘Things I’m craving that I can’t have’.  I also made homemade yogurt . I added vanilla only to find out afterward that so called ‘PURE Vanilla Extract’ has sugar cane in it. Ugh.

General thoughts: has it been hard? Anything specific that you are noticing?

Detox was hard. I look back at how I felt 2 weeks ago and can say it was terrible. My doctor couldn’t believe we quit cold turkey. She said she would have recommended several vitamin supplements for the first few weeks had she known. Somehow hearing that made me feel better about being crazed.


AMANDA:

Part of me thinks it is getting easier, but maybe its just because I’m better prepared now. Sometimes I think the sugar cravings have disappeared until I have a long night of nursing my little one and I’m famished in the morning. Then all I want is a big fat donut and chai latte. Ugh.

Having said that, I did cave in last week. Big time. My husband was going out of town for 4.5 days, I was going on little sleep, and I had lots on my to do list. So I splurged and got a reduced-fat banana chocolate chip coffee cake at Starbucks. Yum. I obviously felt a little guilty though because I didn’t go for the chai or vanilla latte like I wanted. I stuck with a plain latte and added vanilla when I got home. (My vanilla does NOT have sugar in it!)

Things I’m craving that I can’t have:

Still really want that Shamrock Shake! A piece of chocolate after dinner would be really nice.

Non-sweetener substitutes that you love (or any that just didn’t work):

For now, a Clementine has to take the place of the after-dinner chocolate.

And I found out that Ezekial 4:9 makes a fabulous cinnamon raisin bread. All natural. No sugar!

Accidental (or not) cheat moments:

See above for the big one. I also found out there is sugar in a soup Id been eating. So, I made my own!

General thoughts: has it been hard? Anything specific that you are noticing?

Meals are not too hard to make sugar-free. Snacking is more difficult. Oh, and dessert.

JEN:

I feel like it should we further in than just 3 weeks. That means we still have 3.5 weeks to go! I do feel it’s getting easier and I’m feeling much better physically than the first two weeks.

Things I’m craving that I can’t have:

I really have not been craving much. It’s more that I don’t like feeling left out. We had some friends over for dinner on Sunday and  Brette made  creme brulee. It’s not that I was really craving creme brulee, but more that I was the only one not having any. Of course, that made me start wondering, ‘have I been eating things I don’t really love just to fit in?’

Non-sweetener substitutes that you love (or any that just didn’t work):

I’m still a fan of dates.  Good Earth original tea is what gets me through the afternoon.

Accidental (or not) cheat moments:

Not that I am aware of.  Go me!  I think I’m now more stubborn than anything.  However, reading about Meghan and Amanda’s “moment”, I’m worried a craving might get me at some point.

General thoughts: has it been hard? Anything specific that you are noticing?

See note above about wondering if I’m eating things I don’t really love. Right now, I don’t think it’s hard. With that said, I’m still looking forward to some sort of sugary goodness on Easter.

How are the rest of you doing? Let us know what challenges you are having!

One Response to “sugar-free update #3”

  1. Monica March 11, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    This is hard. I am an addict. I like sweet things. I cheated twice by drinking Crystal Light because I just needed something sweet. I’ve noticed that the amount of sugar I’m putting in my coffee has crept up. I just like things sweet – is that so wrong?

    On the other hand, I’ve started to pay more attention to some foods – I’ve switched to greek yogurt with no aspertame. It is good!

Leave a Reply

