food for thought: kitchen window gift card

11 Mar

Okay, I have a big dilemma and could really use your help.

For Christmas, my wonderful mother-in-law gave me a $50 gift card to Kitchen Window. It’s a sweet gift. I heart Kitchen Window and their new store is amazing. For those of you that don’t live in MN, think sur la table but cooler and not as pretentious – in my opinion anyways.  They have everything under the sun in terms of cooking, plus a cooking school with tons of classes.  I can spend an afternoon just browsing through the place and dreaming of what my kitchen could be….

So back to the gift card. It’s seriously burning a hole in my pocket and I can’t decide what to spend it on. Do I put it towards a larger purchase? Do I get a bunch of smaller things? Do I dare get a cookbook? Cooking class?Are there things I don’t even know I desperately need?

So many options!

Help!

Here are some of my current thoughts (I come up with a new one every day):

1. Add to my very small stainless steel All-Clad collection ( I currently have the 1.5qt. saucepan and a 10-inch saute pan w/ lid).  Then I have to decide what piece to add…

2. A roasting pan. I’m talking the kind that holds a 20-lb turkey at Thanksgiving. One that can also be used on the stove-top to make groovy gravy’s.

3. The little things. I’m on the look out for some random kitchen items such as a honeypot, a small pitcher (for sauces and such),and/or a loose leaf tea holder.

4. Stock up on baking ingredients. They carry great chocolate and vanilla there and I’m confident I could spend $50 just on that.

5. A cookbook that I don’t know I must have yet.

So, dear readers, this is where I turn to you.

What would YOU spend a $50 gift card on? Please share! You might have ideas that haven’t occurred to me. What’s missing in your cooking life that you’d like to purchase? Or would you go to a cooking class instead?

I can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

12 Responses to “food for thought: kitchen window gift card”

  1. Jackson March 11, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    Okay first of all you do not need another cookbook. Well, maybe you do but not now.
    A honey pot? Really?
    A cooking class would be fun but …..
    I think you should go with adding to your All-Clad stainless collection. I actually like the idea of the roasting pan because you can use for other things besides the turkey at Thanksgiving. Such as roasts, vegetables and whatnot. It’s something you will have for a long time and know that it comes from your mom-in-law.:)

  2. Carin March 11, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    I say add to the All-Clad collection. We have a nice roasting pan..used it twice. It is too big for everyday use, at least for us anyway, plus it is a pain to store. There’s my two cents! Love whatever you get, that is the important thing.

  3. Kate March 12, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    All-Clad!! You’ll use it probably every day for the rest of your life.

  4. Cheryl March 12, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Add to your all clad collection/what about one of those gorgeous lasagna pans. The roaster is a once or twice a year thing, but you are right, every special occasion you use it for will remind you of your family.

  5. Doug March 12, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I agree with the general direction of these comments–go for hardware, buy expendables out of cash flow as you need them–but I would add one other category to consider: cutlery. The cookware is a fine idea if there is a pot or pan you *really* need regularly, but do you have the right blades for your daily cuisine?

    • jen March 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      Doug – great suggestion! I’m sitting well with knives – a whole block full of self-selected Wustoffs. I like where your heads at though.
      I’m loving hearing everyone’s thoughts – keep em’ coming.

  6. anne March 12, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    For sure the honey pot!! And one of those sweet honey dipper things! No on the cookbook…you could probably find the same one way cheaper on Amazon or somewhere. Putting it towards something you’ll have forever (and use lots) like a piece of cookware or cutlery sounds like a good idea to me- that is if you’re willing/able to fork over the rest of the cash to buy the item!

  7. Willa March 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Ditto on the All Clad. You could buy a cookbook, baking ingredients, etc. anytime. Put the gift card toward the larger, special purchase that you will use day-in and day-out.

    I wouldn’t buy a roaster just because it is an item that is used infrequently, takes-up mucho space to store, and you could always borrow one from a pal, like moi, when you need it.

  8. Brette March 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    New webber grill sized paella pan! Trust me Faithful Readers, this could benefit you directly.

    • anne March 12, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

      PAELLA PAN!!! Good one. Better yet, perhaps Kitchen Window offers Cooking/Travel Vacations, and you could put the $50 towards a culinary tour of Spain. That would put a big dent in the cost.

    • Willa March 12, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

      Interesting. By hierarchy of needs, frequency of use, and so forth, it is up there…

  9. Donna March 13, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Hi Jen! I definitely vote for the All Clad. I bought a starter set MANY years ago and I use them every day. I LOVE them. The only kitchenware I love as much is my 5.5 quart Le Crueset dutch over, which I bought for a little over $100 at the outlet about a year ago and my microplanes! Have fun with your decision!

Leave a Reply

