one ingredient ice cream

26 Mar

I opted for a quiet night at home this fine Friday night. Brette’s at the MN High School Boys State Basketball Tournament where his alma mater is playing this evening. Go Wildcats! I decided to stay at home with the dog (who is snoring at my feet right now), catch up on some DVR and just chill.  Other than entertaining friends, this is how I’d prefer to spend my Friday nights.

Before Brette took off, I insisted he cook.  Since it’s been threatening spring here in MN and Brette has been dying to break in his new charcoal grill, burgers were in order. Nothing smells like spring more than a charcoal grill cooking up some burgers and veggies. I cannot wait for summer because it means more of this:

Perfect Friday night food.

What made it even better was dessert.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. What? Jen!  – you can’t have dessert, you gave up sugar for lent!

But, this is no ordinary dessert. It’s the one ingredient ice cream I hinted at on Wednesday. What is that one ingredient?

Bananas.

No joke.  If you are a food blog junkie like myself, you may have seen this already. It’s making it’s way through the blog circuit.  And for good reasons. Ice cream out of a banana?

I tried this for the first time last weekend when our friend’s, Amanda and Dave, came over for dinner. I wasn’t confident it would work, but knew if it did, it would be super impressive. So, we all gathered around the food processor to watch what happened. Low and behold, after some patience and scrapping of the bowl, we had what looked like soft serve banana ice cream. And that’s exactly what it tasted like.

I promise if you make this for people they will be super impressed.

For those people off sugar – you will LOVE this.

For those of you that are lactose intolerant – you will LOVE this.

For those of you on Weight Watchers  or just gearing up for bikini season- you will LOVE this.

That is, if you like bananas.

There is an awesome tutorial of the step-by-step process with photos over at the kitchn. I highly recommend it.Their photos are fantastic.

Here are a few photos from my experience this evening.

Start with a very ripe banana that has been peeled, sliced and frozen.

Pop them into a food processor and turn it on. It will be loud. It will start to break up into pebble pieces.

This is where you need to channel your patience. The bananas will start to gum up and you will continue to have to stop the processor, scrape the sides, break up the clumps and start again.  At some point you will start to wonder if it’ll ever work and likely think I’m full of baloney.  I got impatient tonight and this happened:

I always wondered what it would take to ruin a Pampered Chef scraper. Now I know. Don’t stick it into a running food processor hoping to speed up banana ice cream. Have patience.

Eventually, it will turn into a creamy, smooth, soft-serve consistency. I promise. Once it gets there, you could add things to it. Tonight I tried my favorite pairing with bananas…

I can’t wait to throw some chocolate into the mix too. Can you imagine? Yum!

Here’s what the end result looked like:

Cold, creamy and delicious. I loved it with the peanut butter. It is for sure becoming a favorite of mine. I find that one banana per person is a nice portion, but since it’s just fruit, you could have more without guilt. Though tonight I would feel guilty since I promised to save some for Brette.  I could blame the dog? (who is still snoring by the way)

Have any of you tried this? What did you think?

4 Responses to “one ingredient ice cream”

  1. Jackson March 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I can’t wait to try it. I love bananas with peanut butter and chocolate. Yum! Thanks Jen.

  2. Lara March 27, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I remember when this was going around the blog world full force last summer but I couldn’t make it because I didn’t have a food processor and now that I do I forgot about it! Must get some bananas stat.
    There is a cafe here that actually sells this and you can get all sorts of toppings but it is like $3.50 for a small cup.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. March 29 Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table – Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - March 29, 2010

    […] One-ingredient ice cream (!), a spring vegetable tart, tofu and asparagus stir-fry, creamy penne and mushrooms, Sunday morning corndogs, coconut meringues with a surprise inside, Old Virginia Cake, and a caramelized onion and apple sandwich. var addthis_pub = "heavytable"; var addthis_options = 'favorites, digg, delicious, stumbleupon, twitter, facebook, reddit, more'; var addthis_brand = "The Heavy Table"; […]

  2. restaurant review: ecopolitan « She said. She said. - March 25, 2011

    […] necessarily blown away. You could make something just as tasty (and maybe better) at home following this recipe as your […]

Leave a Reply

