pizza on the farm

20 May

Have you ever had one of those experiences where you feel like you are in movie? Like a scene from a romantic comedy or a “chick flick”?

That is exactly how I felt on Tuesday when the Gourmet Dinner Club trekked to Stockholm, WI to have pizza on a farm. This is not just any farm. It’s a very busy one. It’s called the A to Z Produce Farm. They have pigs, cows, wheat and lots of vegetables on this farm.

Once a week, on Tuesdays, they open up the farm to the public and create amazing pizzas in their 2 brick ovens. They use mainly ingredients they source on the farm like pork from their “happy pigs”, wheat they’ve milled, cheese from their cows and various vegetables. Cool, right?

It gets better. The farm itself is gorgeous! The buildings are old, but have been kept up beautifully. The grounds are lush and the views are breathtaking.

Here are a few photos:

Lots of lilacs. These were conveniently next to the bathroom.

I love the color of this building.

There is a catch to the farm. The only thing they provide is the pizza. You need to bring things like: something to sit on, plates, silverware, napkins, beverages, side dishes (if you so desire) and then you need to take everything home with you.

We made a complete picnic experience. Let me break it down for you.

First, the drive. It took about 1 hour and 40  minutes to get there from South Minneapolis. I know – it’s kind of a haul. However, the drive was breathtaking. We drove to Hastings, crossed over into WI, and took the very scenic 35 South to Stockholm.  Next time, I’d like to stop in some of the cute towns along the way.

The farm itself is in the middle of nowhere really. All of a sudden it appears and you can see the cars lined up, kind of like Field of Dreams. We got there at about 6 p.m. It wasn’t overly crowded, but definitely full.

Ready for pizza!

Once you find a picnic spot, you need to go order the pizza. Here’s the menu:

The pizzas are a little more expensive than your average pie. However, your average pie was not made out of ingredients from this farm. When you broke it out per person, it was just fine – in my opinion.

We had about a 30 minute wait, so we decided some appetizers were in order.

Edamame crackers, white cheddar and hummus.

Next, I wanted to check out the ovens!

This woman was crazy busy bustling back and forth between the two ovens. When I asked if I could take a picture, she smiled and said, “As long as I don’t have to stop moving!”.  Each pizza only takes 1 minute in the oven. That is some crazy heat.

Now that I got that out of the way, we could have a toast.

Lee had the fancy cup. Though, I felt we were very green. No plastic or paper at our picnic; only the reusable goods, thanks to Natalie.

Speaking of Natalie, she became our very own pizza delivery gal!

We were very happy to see her.

Pizza #1: Canadian Bacon (from happy pigs) and onion confit:

Pizza #2: Herb pesto with macadamia nuts, roasted sweet peppers, roasted tomatoes and fresh mozzarella:

I brought a salad because I always like a little salad with my pizza.

It's like a rainbow!

Am I the only one that likes salad with my pizza? I’m not sure where I picked that up.

Here’s my first plate….

There may have been a second one just like it later. I cannot confirm or deny that.

We rounded out the meal with a little dessert. Lee made some kick-butt chocolate ginger brownies.

Lee, I’m going to need that recipe, okay?

Amanda brought some watermelon which was a great way to counteract the brownie(s) I ate.

It was such a perfect meal!

In case you’re wondering (we were after the long drive), they do provide bathrooms. They have one conventional bathroom and then they have this guy:

This is not your typical outhouse. It’s a Bran Can!

I did not have the pleasure of using the Bran Can, but apparently it was not at all smelly and one of the cleanest outhouses around. They use the byproduct of the flour produced on the farm to cover the waste and then it is composted for a year and used on non-food crops.  Cool, huh?

Okay, enough about bran can.

The verdict on the pizza?

The pizza was very good. We all really liked it and were very happy eaters. My favorite was the herb pesto version. I’m a sucker for roasted tomatoes.

Now, with that said, it wasn’t the best pizza I’ve ever had. However, it was really good pizza and put that together with the experience, atmosphere, and company it made for an amazing evening.

I would highly recommend heading out to the farm. It’s worth the time, the drive and the price. In fact, I’ve already suggested to Brette that this would be a great trip for my birthday later this summer.  It would be great for a family, a group of friends, a girls night out, or a romantic date.

A to Z Produce

Pizza Hours: 4:30 p.m. – 8 p.m. on Tuesdays

N2956 Anker Lane
Stockholm, WI 54769

(715) 448-4802

7 Responses to “pizza on the farm”

  1. Kari May 20, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    So sorry I missed. Next year for sure!!!

  2. Carin May 21, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    The experience sounds awesome!

  3. Fav Sista May 21, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    It is 8:00 in the morning and I am hungry. Hungry for pizza. Thanks! This does sound awesome and pizza is one of my favorite meals. Sounds like we may need to take a field trip!

  4. Lee May 21, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    It was an amazing experience and Jen- you idid a great job tellling the story. i am ready to go again.

  5. Jackson May 23, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    I would also be interested in the recipe for the ginger brownies. Sounds interesting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. gourmet dinner club: brunch « She said. She said. - November 19, 2010

    […] Pizza on the Farm […]

  2. a year in review « She said. She said. - December 30, 2010

    […] 3. Pizza on the Farm – the first outing (outside of our houses) of the Gourmet Dinner Club. It was such a fun experience and if you ever have the chance, you should go. […]

Leave a Reply

