Thieves!

25 May

There are thieves in my garden. I am not happy about it.

I have not had this problem in my previous two years of gardening so I really thought I was immune to this It’s a bit frustrating.

There is something in my back yard that has taken three of my brussels sprout plants and 2 eggplants. Is it a rabbit? Is it a squirrel? Is it the neighbor’s cat? No idea, but I’m officially annoyed. I’m think it could be a squirrel, but Brette thinks it’s a rabbit. Neither of us have seen either critter in the garden. Since yesterday, it’s been chewing on my peppers.

Any thoughts? What wretched animal would eat my innocent sprouts?

If it’s a squirrel, there isn’t much I can do to keep them out of the garden. They can get through and climb over anything. If it’s a rabbit, we have more options. Brette spent some time this evening blocking off holes in the yard where they could get in with some fencing. I’m hoping that does the trick.

My only other option is to keep my fierce fighter dog outside 24/7. She has killed two squirrels in our backyard. She loves to talk about it. Just look at this dangerous beast.

It might be wise to have a back-up plan.

Have any of you struggled with critters? Any words of wisdom? I’m counting on you!

In other gardening news, everything is planted. I stuck pretty much to my drawings, but needed to make adjustments based on space and the thieves. I replaced the stolen plants with bok choy and another eggplant. My garden store was out of brussels sprouts and I’ve never grown bok choy so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

So in addition to my frost tolerant veggies, I now have:

Tomatoes – 6 different heirlooms

Peppers – 4 types of the sweet kind and 4 jalapenos

Edamame

Rapini

Eggplant

Brussels Sprouts – just one thanks to the thieves

Bok Choy

Herbs! – basil, oregano, rosemary, mint, thyme, sage, parsley and dill

Glorious!

Just today, I pulled my first radish and I’ll be harvesting lettuce this week. I get down-right giddy. There is just nothing more satisfying then growing your own food.  Well…that and ice cream. :)

6 Responses to “Thieves!”

  1. Dennis May 25, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    You should be thankful the brussel sprouts are gone. No self-respecting cat would mess with a garden. Deer and rabbits are another thing. If I remember correctly rabbits hate marigolds which look nicer than chicken wire.

  2. Heather May 25, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Sounds like a bunny to me! Or two, or three….you know they reproduce like crazy!
    Have you tried the fox urine spray? It works pretty good but you have to reapply every so often. Menards has decent prices.
    I’m hoping too that you are not talking about repairing a standard yard fence….bunnies can get through just about anything. I watch them squeeze through my chain link fence holes just about daily. You really need to have chicken wire surrounding the garden and I would stake it into the ground at least 3 inches below the surface.
    Good luck!

  3. Tracy M. May 26, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Yeah, damn rabbits. Fencing is good but loads of work. The stuff you can spray on is helpful. Even with the faithful pooch at the ready, she can’t be on duty all night…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. fighting back « She said. She said. - June 7, 2010

    […] Leave a Comment Thank you so much for all of you who gave me advice on how to battle with the thieves in my garden.  I am obviously not the only one who has dealt with garden […]

  2. thieves take II « She said. She said. - August 8, 2010

    […] I know it’s those dang squirrels. Thieves! […]

  3. garden recap « She said. She said. - November 6, 2010

    […] there were the thieves. Then there were the other thieves. Dang those thieves! Thanks to many of your suggestions, I was […]

Leave a Reply

