new scenic cafe

5 Jun

I went out to eat!! Girls night out!!! (It’s about time!)

We reunited in Duluth, and decided to dine at the New Scenic Cafe along the shore north of Duluth. I have heard so many good things about this restaurant, and have never been there. I was EXCITED. And starving. So let’s get right to the food, shall we?

Perusing the menu, I wanted to order one of just about everything. Really, I had a hard time deciding on my entree. I ended up choosing that night’s special- the pork tenderloin atop corn masa and squash, with fresh corn kernels, cilantro and scallions. It was utterly delicious. My only regret is that I didn’t order a starter- WHAT was I thinking? Three of my dining companions ordered the Moroccan stew, which was reported to be very flavorful and yummy. The other entrees ordered at our table were the bay scallops (they looked great- and I don’t even like seafood!), the halibut, and the chicken sandwich. I heard nothing but rave reviews from the others about how pleased they were with their delicious meals.

Then there was dessert. Dessert!! Just LOOK at the dessert menu!!! I wanted to order one of everything off of that menu as well. {{And how awesome is it to be dining with people that adore dessert as much as you do?!}} While everything on the dessert menu sounded tempting, I simply could not pass up the raspberry rhubarb pie served with fresh whipped cream. It was divine. The crust was superb- light and flaky and tender; and the raspberry/rhubarb middle was delicious. The crust, filling, and whipped cream were a trifecta of perfection.

So, the food at Scenic Cafe?? AWESOME. DELICIOUS. CRAVING IT RIGHT NOW. I’d for sure go back to try more off their menu. And the things I’m adding below are more of a footnote, and will in no way inhibit me from returning to the restaurant. Yet I feel they must be mentioned.

Ambience: The restaurant building is nothing fancy. Their website describes it as a “cabin feel”. It’s basically a long building with some wood siding on the outside. The space consists of a long room with an entryway in the middle with another long room on the other side. With nice huge windows overlooking Lake Superior. It’s definitely scenic!! Decor: plain, minimal. But none is needed- the view is stellar.

Service: I’d give this aspect of the dining experience the fewest amount of stars, if we were counting stars around here. The service can only be described as slow. There were a number of other patrons in the restaurant when we were there at 7:00pm, but the place was by no means busy. Understaffed, perhaps? I only saw our one server, and if she was taking care of all the tables, then I could see how some of these less-than-desirable server snafus could have happened. For instance, our dinners arrived at different times. Two of us got served, and then a few minutes later the other entrees were brought to the table. Not ideal, as this leaves two meals to sit there getting cold, or two diners feeling uncomfortable as they eat in front of those who don’t have food yet. When we ordered dessert, the same thing happened. One of us was served dessert, while the others sat there waiting and waiting for ours to come. And the coffee was delayed and not served immediately with the dessert. I had ordered a blackberry iced tea, and received a plain iced tea. It was quite good, so I didn’t complain. My friend, though, had to order her beverage three different times because they were out of the first two things she ordered. A result of us being there the day after a long holiday weekend? Perhaps.

Our server seemed very knowledgeable about the menu. In our group, there was one vegetarian and two gals who aren’t eating dairy, and the server seemed to know specifics about every dish that we inquired about. She made sure to let the chef know which orders had to be dairy free. Basically, she spent a good few minutes conversing with the people in my party about their non-dairy needs. I thought they made it really clear what their needs were. And then back comes the server at dessert time, asking if non-dairy eater #1 would like cream in her coffee and whipped cream with her pie. Hm. Oh yes, and we were also very lucky to have a group of stinky bicycle riders who smelled like they hadn’t bathed in weeks be seated next to us. I’m not saying this is the restaurant’s fault; just saying that the Scenic attracts patrons of all sorts from the shore, all who are looking for, and receive, a great meal.

If you happen to find yourself in the Duluth or North Shore area this summer, I highly, highly recommend the New Scenic Cafe.

3 Responses to “new scenic cafe”

  1. jen June 5, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Yum! Sounds great. Especially the pie. :)

  2. beanski June 7, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    We get out for dinner like twice a year and we ALWAYS go there. Scott is a great chef and a pretty nice guy. We had our groom’s dinner there way back and he went out of his way to make it special. YUM. I want to go there now, please.

    Also, it is a very kid friendly place during the afternoon for a stop on a drive up the shore. We do it a lot.

  3. Mary June 7, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Love the New Scenic Cafe! It’s Matt’s fave restaurant in the area.

Leave a Reply

