fighting back

7 Jun

Thank you so much for all of you who gave me advice on how to battle with the thieves in my garden.  I am obviously not the only one who has dealt with garden varmints.

Most people think it’s a rabbit that is eating dinner in my backyard. I decided on a couple different plans of attack – hoping that one of them will work!

Plan #1: Plant marigolds.

This seemed like a no brainer because even if they don’t actually scare away the rabbits, they look pretty.

Plan #2: Liquid Fence


This was a recommendation by my friend Cheryl. Cheryl has the most beautiful flower garden you will ever see. This woman knows her way around plants. I trust everything she says.

Liquid fence is essentially concentrated garlic. It is suppose to put off a scent that both deer and rabbits do not like. They don’t need to taste it to be repelled, they can smell it before they get there.

I can say that after I sprayed it, I almost gagged. The smell goes away pretty quickly to humans, but man, is it nasty. I’ve sprayed it twice so far and took a shower immediately after wards because I just could not get rid of that smell.

Take that rabbits!

I might try one more thing in collaboration with liquid fence and marigolds: cayenne pepper. Apparently sprinkling that on and around your plants can help. Those MN deer and rabbits do not like the spice! They are more ketchup and salt people. :)

In other gardening news, here’s what’s going on in my backyard.

The tomato cages are up….

The netting is up for the peas to climb…

This is what the edamame is looking like ( I have no idea how this grows)….

My radishes and turnips are going crazy….

An overall look at the state of my garden…

What’s going on in your dirt?

4 Responses to “fighting back”

  1. Heather June 7, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Game on and good luck! The garden looks FANTASTIC!

  2. cheryl June 8, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Jen, the garden is especially beautiful this year due to the warm April, cool May and now all the rain. You must like hostas tho to appreciate the lush foliage. We had terrific azaleas for a few days, but then 95 degrees happened. I hope your garden does well. The rabbits are especially hard on tulips and vegetables. I think chicken wire around your garden may be in your future. My friend Mary’n gave me a tomato tip last night. She puts red plastic under her tomatoes. As you know tomatoes love heat…also the color red. She has the best tomatoes. Come for a visit…enjoy your blog as always.

  3. anne June 8, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    We harvested our first radish and a few leaves of lettuce. We’ve hit the big time.

  4. Brette June 9, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    A shout out to those tomato cages – they are far better than the POS wire cages we used to have. The best part is being able to remove the horizontal braces and slide them up or down as the plant grows.

Leave a Reply

