garden update: the good, the bad, and the hopeful

24 Jun

I’m starting to wonder if this might be an off year for my garden. It just doesn’t seem like itself. Or, maybe it’s just me. Some things seem to be doing well and others are lagging behind. I felt like everything was flourishing all the time last year. I guess it can’t always be a banner year, but I am hoping the garden finds its groove soon.

Here’s a recap of where things are at currently.

The Good

I think my thief has gone on to greener pastures. I have not had any additional missing plants or large leaves missing. Was it the liquid fence? The marigolds? My dog becoming more viscous?

yelling at the rabbits

I’ll never know, but I I’ll be taking the same precautions next year earlier in the season.

The Bad

I have a different pest. The leaf miners are back. They paid an extended visit last year and I was hopeful they would forget about my little garden. No such luck. I’m not sure the Neem did much last year, so I’m going to check back in with my garden store to see what non-chemical options they have available.

Here is a look at their handywork.

bok choy leaf

my precious kale

even my edamame!

The hopeful

There are some bright spots in the garden that I’m pretty excited about.

My first peas!

These are the shelling peas. What I’m unsure about is how big the peas should be before you shell them. Anyone?

These are the snap peas which you can just pull off and eat.  I tend to snack on them while I’m checking the rest of the garden.

And finally, the most exciting thing I found today….

the first tomato! I may have let out a big “woo hoo” when I noticed it. I’ll be watching the others very closely now.

What’s going on in your garden? If you’re not gardening, are you picking up any new veggies at the Farmer’s Market?

3 Responses to “garden update: the good, the bad, and the hopeful”

  1. Fav Sista June 25, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Bummer that your garden has some challenges.
    It will turn around. I have one tomato plant that is not coming around for me so I have no advise for you – sorry!
    On another note – made the Brandied Strawberry Jam last night, had it this morning on an english muffin – DELISH! Thanks!

  2. Tracy M. June 25, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Leaf miners + slugs + pesky rabbits on this side of town. Waiting for those damn Asian beetles to make their annual return to the grapevines.

  3. cheryl June 30, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I ate my first cherry tomato yesterday. Grow them in a big planter on driveway blacktop. The more heat the better and tons of water. All the rest are still green, just this one red spot in my planter. I planted two romas this year so we’ll see how they do. The farmers market already has cauliflower…was terrific. Hoping the next two weeks of strawberries are better than the first wave which was mushy and prone to mold.

Leave a Reply

