curry

14 Jul

Um, hi!! Yes, it’s me, Anne. I’m a co-author of this blog, but you wouldn’t know it from reading the blog, would you?

I thought I better carve out some time to blog about the fact that I now like curry. It’s true…I always thought curry was something I did not like the taste of. It always seemed too sweet and rich and desserty to me, like a spice cake or a gingerbread or something. Something about the flavor of it, and then that flavor being combined with potatoes or meat or whatnot just didn’t do it for me. But then the spouse starting whipping together some curry dishes, and in the spirit of “I’ll eat anything that ANYONE ELSE cooks”, I started trying the curry. And I can officially say that I think I’ve developed a taste for it now.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve made an Ellie Krieger curried chicken salad (twice- once for us and once for some neighbors) that I found simply delish. I added some chick peas the second time I made it which really kicked it up a notch, and served it with pita chips. It received high praises from the neighbors! It makes a great hot-weather dinner, and the leftovers are super for future lunches.

Yesterday I was g-chatting with Jen and told her to send me a dinner recipe asap. I told her that I had “vegetables” on hand, and that a curry sounded good. Within moments she sent me this recipe for cashew curry. I really changed this recipe up since I didn’t have cashews on hand (so if I were to rename this recipe it would simple be called “curry.”) I also substituted broccoli for cauliflower, and substituted chicken breast for tofu. The curry-loving spouse loved it, and I didn’t think it was half-bad myself.

Duty calls; signing off.

Feel free to leave any of your favorite curry recipes in the comments. I’d love to try some new ones!!

p.s.: An interesting tidbit of info…the blend of curry that’s in my cupboard contains fenugreek, an herb that has been used since ancient times to increase a lactating woman’s milk supply! In case you were wondering…

2 Responses to “curry”

  1. jen July 15, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    I was wondering. :) I’m going to have to make that curried salad….with tofu of course.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. an Indian baby shower « She said. She said. - November 14, 2010

    […] us which food was which and what was in each dish. Remember, it’s only been recently that I’ve started liking curry, and I’ve only eaten in an Indian restaurant once (in Chicago, during the same trip as the […]

Leave a Reply

