miscellany

19 Jul

I’m making an effort to post more frequently here on this blog. Just remember, quantity does not equal quality, but I think an attainable goal for me is to start with quantity and then hopefully things will improve from there. So, here are a few tidbits of things that fall under the category of “things I can blog about on She Said. She Said.”

Target Field Eats

I’ve been to three Twins games at the new Target Field. And I’ve eaten the same exact thing every time. (What can I say? I’m a creature of habit. When I find something I like I stick with it.) First on my list of must-eat-at-Twins-game is Angie’s Kettle Corn. It is SOOO good and salty sweet that I could eat the entire bag myself (which I think is probably 5000 calories or something). It is imperative that one buy Angie’s Kettle Corn from their kiosk in the plaza so that it’s warm and superfresh just out of the kettle. If there’s a long line they’ll try to talk you into entering the stadium to buy a bag inside, but DON’T DO IT. The last game I went to I got the LAST bag of Angie’s before it was sold out. Halleluia! With the Kettle Corn I always drink a Pepsi…I’d prefer it to be a Coke but they must only have Pepsi products at Target Field. The other item I’ve had every visit so far is a brat from Kramarczuk’s. I’m not really much of a hotdog/brat person, but during the first game I attended at Target Field I found myself sharing one of these brats with Pat, and it was really, really good, so I got it again the next two times I attended a game. The brat must be loaded with sauerkraut and fried onions. And yes, the brat is better than the polish, per my husband. The only other thing I’ve tried at a game was the nachos. Pat and I shared these also, after he had raved about the nachos he had eaten at a previous game. We quickly learned that the ‘to rave about’ nachos are the ones sold from the nacho cart, NOT the ones sold at the concession counters. Those ones are nasty and served by really rude women. Avoid those.

Premium and Kettle Corn…another great combo

What’s been your fave foodstuff at Target field? What should I try next?

The Garden

I think I’ve mentioned I’ve had nothing to do with this square foot gardening that Pat has embarked upon this summer. Nothing aside from eating the fruits vegetables of his labor! My favorite things so far to have growing in our garden have been the lettuces. Well, two lettuces (green leaf, and swiss chard) and a spinach. I adore being able to walk out there and pick the greens for a salad.

first lettuce harvest

Speaking of salads, here’s one I whipped together one day. Ingredients: leaf lettuces, cucumber, yellow pepper, carrot sticks, blueberries, and gorgonzola crumbles. Dressed with a little lemon juice and olive oil.

Ryan has really enjoyed watering the garden, and plucking things from it. Whenever we eat a vegetable he asks if it’s from dada’s garden.

Oh yeah, and today I gave the tomato plants a haircut.

Baking

On July 4th we were at the cabin. Pat was cooking dinner that night (farofa encrusted walleye, potatoes, and grilled asparagus) and the 3 year old was starting to go a little bonkers during that pre-dinner witching hour, so I said LET’S MAKE A CAKE! This dude adores making and baking, so he assisted me as I sliced up the angelfood cake my mom had along for strawberry shortcake and placed it in a layer on the bottom of a small cake pan. Next I slathered the angelfood with Reddi Whip, and then topped that with some blueberry ‘stars’ and strawberry and raspberry ‘stripes’ for a little patriotic dessert.

Last weekend I sent my errand boys off to the farmer’s market to pick up some berries. Little did they know I was planning to make a pie with the blueberries. They ate half the container before they even left the market, so I was left with not nearly enough for a pie. So, I decided to combine the blueberries with raspberries, used the Pioneer Woman’s Blueberry Pie recipe and a Pillsbury ready-made crust, and dare I say the pie turned out divine! I’ve not had the best of luck with pies in the past, so I was quite proud this one turned out exceptionally well. I find there’s nothing much better than a fresh blueberry pie!

2 Responses to “miscellany”

  1. Jackson July 20, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Anne, I was just at the Target field for the first time last night. It was a horrible game. We lost big time. Ouch! Anyway, it was dollar dog night and let’s just say you get what you pay for. I also had Angie’s Kettle corn. I’ve had it before and am a big fan. She is from my home town and it is made there. YUM!
    Keep up the good work. It’s not easy with two little ones.
    You’re pie looks delicious.

  2. Brette July 20, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    1200 calories and it is possible to eat a bag on your own. I have the sticky fingers to prove.

Leave a Reply

