the storm…it’s a comin’

22 Jul

I have a million things I should be doing right now. It’s been a crazy week and next week will be even crazier as I’ll be riding all over the state on the MS TRAM. But for now, TRAM will have to wait.

Right now I have to tell and show you about the storm that’s about to hit my house. The veggie storm.

The garden is coming into it’s second life. The spring veggies (radishes, turnips, snap peas, shelling peas, and lettuces) have come to a close. The summer crop is about to hit and I think it’s going to be big.

Here’s what’s coming:

black cherry tomatoes

These were a big hit in our house last year and it looks like we’ll have a big crop again this year. If you have a chance to get some of these at your local market, I highly recommend them.

yellow grape tomatoes

How cute are these? They taste pretty darn good too.

Eggplant

This is hands down my favorite thing to grow. They are so beautiful and fun to watch. They are even tastier to eat. Last year we made a great pasta with eggplant, which you can check out here. I’m confident I’ll find another delicious eggplant recipe to share with you soon now that they are coming into harvest.

Basil

My basil is out of control! I love it though. I see caprese salads and pesto in my future.

Peppers

Check out all of these peppers just waiting to turn orange, yellow and red. I also have a ton of jalapenos – more than this gal can probably handle. If you are in need of jalapenos, please come over and take some. Really.

Carrots

I love carrots straight out of the garden. They taste very carrot-y. Much better than those baby carrots in the store. Not to mention that pulling them out of the ground is super satisfying.

Edamame

I’m very excited about this little guy. This is my first time growing edamame and I wasn’t sure how they were going to grow or how much room they would take. Well, they couldn’t be easier and now I have a ton of these bad boys. They’re not ready to pick yet as the pods aren’t developed, but when they do, it’s going to be edamame central around here.

How’s that for a lot of produce? The next few weeks will be filled with these items plus the kale and chard that has been blooming consistently.

I love summer and the produce it brings.

What are you loving about summer?

6 Responses to “the storm…it’s a comin’”

  1. Amanda July 22, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    Congrats on your beautiful veggies! I’m sure you’ll be bringing some along on TRAM. Have fun and be safe!

  2. Kate July 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Wow Jen, that looks great! I’m totally jealous – of your garden and your bike ride!

  3. Ann July 23, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    We’ve had tons of great lettuce, some broccoli, beans and the cherry tomatoes are just turning. We go on vacation on Sunday, so our neighbor will be reaping the rewards for the week. Happy summer! Love the beautiful photos Jennifer!!!

  4. Willa July 25, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Gorgeous garden! I’d love to take some of the jalapenos off your hands.

  5. Jane @ Sweet Basil Kitchen August 5, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    It has been fun to see your garden photos. I desperately miss my garden this year, but am a frequent shopper at our Farmers Market! I see you are registered for HLS. I was on standby, and finally got in! Yeah!

    • jen August 8, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks Jane! Looking forward to meeting you this weekend!

Leave a Reply

