thieves take II

8 Aug

I don’t know about you, but this hot weather is really killing my desire to cook. Lately, it’s been more about assembling meals instead of cooking them. Salads, sandwiches, and yogurt seem to be the favorites right now. Am I alone here?

Lucky for me, the garden is providing me with lots of things to assemble. My eggplant is out of control!

An eggplant post will be coming your way in the next week. It is my current favorite vegetable.

A close second are my tomatoes. However, I seem to be having a problem with the tomatoes.

My precious tomatoes…

I know it’s those dang squirrels. Thieves!

I had a similar problem last year and it was only with one specific tomato plant. I didn’t plant that variety this year. As it turns out, those little varmints like this new variety too. Again – just one of my plants. (I have 6 total)

What is the deal and how do I stop them?

My first plan was cayenne.

I thought this would for sure teach them a lesson. I know it would work for me.

Well, those little buggers are smart. They just went after a new one and left the cayenne infected one to rot.

I’m attempting garlic spray again tonight.

Have any of you had this problem? Any brilliant ways to fix it?

Please help me save the tomatoes!

6 Responses to “thieves take II”

  1. Dennis August 8, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I think it was the Quakers of Western Mass. that planted three times as much as they thought they needed. One part for them, one part for visitors/travelers, and one part for varmits.

  2. James Norton August 8, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Rumor has it that squirrels go after tomatoes more out of thirst than hunger, and if you set out a dish of water, it’ll help curb the problem. We tried it, and it seemed to work. Emphasis on “seemed,” we were very unscientific about it. We’ve had great luck with cherry tomatoes, though — nothing really seems to bug them, and they come in at a steady pint a day or thereabouts, which is great.

    • jen August 9, 2010 at 8:10 am #

      James – I had never heard that, but it completely makes sense. I will try it – thanks for the tip!

  3. Amy T August 9, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    We threw some vegetable netting (found at Ace Hardware) over our garden and it helped keep the birds out…would probably work against other critters as well. Good Luck Jen!

  4. The Crazy Suburban Mom August 9, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Oh man, I tried tomatoes once and out of 2 years I got one tomato the size of a grape and they were not grape tomatoes! So I have no advice! I think what you have is worse than not getting them!

    Tracy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. garden recap « She said. She said. - November 6, 2010

    […] there were the thieves. Then there were the other thieves. Dang those thieves! Thanks to many of your suggestions, I was able to salvage quite a bit and […]

Leave a Reply

