farmer’s marketing

4 Sep

Both halves of She Said. She Said went farmer’s marketing this morning. After Jen wrote this post, I basically invited myself along for a little Saturday morning market adventure, and today was the day. Jen picked me up at 7:30am and we headed downtown. Jen began the morning with a run, while my lazy self lounged in the sunny car reading a book.

We hit up the Mill City Farmer’s Market first- a place that I have not visited all summer. Jen pointed out her favorite vendors and we meandered around with our coffee, sampling here and there and picking out lots of goodies. While at the Mill City, I indulged in a latte and purchased a loaf of 7 grain bread, some colorful cherry tomatoes, salad greens, and cheese. Most everything presented at the market looked really yummy, fresh and gorgeous. And what a beautiful morning! The weather could not have been more perfect (a tad cool, but it felt nice.)

Next we headed over to the Midtown Farmer’s Market, a spot where Jen disclosed is the place where she buys most of her produce. I was just about out of cash by this point, so I bought $40 of tokens to be used anytime at the Midtown market. Whoever came up with this idea is GENIUS! You simply charge an amount of money (in $20 increments I believe) to your credit card, receive that amount in $5 tokens, and then are able to use those to buy anything at the market. And you get change back in cash.

Before I left the house this morning my husband informed me that I should really bring him a scone, just like Jen brings to Brette every Saturday. I think our first stop at Midtown was at the Fireroast Mountain Cafe stand, where I purchased one ginger pear scone (pears from vendor’s backyard tree!), one chocolate almond scone, and one chocolate chip cookie. ((We tore into these the minute I got home and OoooooOOooooOOOoooh were they ever good. REALLY good.)) The produce at Midtown looked fantastic- such bright, vivid colors and such a wide variety of fruits and veggies for sale this time of year. I ended up buying sweet corn, bell peppers, carrots, and zucchini.

I’m kind of kicking myself for not getting some larger tomatoes, some apples, and some raspberries… (but there’s always Kingfield tomorrow, or Tuesday afternoon at the Midtown.)

Jen sampling an apple slice

Aren’t these pretty?

And these?

Jen got a great deal on two of these huge baskets (bushels?) of tomatoes.

We had lot of fun hauling these bad boys to the car, too!

*******

And here’s just a quick update on what I whipped together today based on what I purchased at the markets… For lunch I had a salad with the greens, cherry tomatoes, and red pepper, and a side of the 7 grain bread and cheese…and it was so delicious. At dinner I had a smaller salad with the same stuff from lunch, and for dessert Ry and I dove into the Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cupcakes with cream cheese frosting that we baked this afternoon (in order to use up my mongo zucchini, of course). I used this recipe, from this link, that a reader was kind enough to share with me in a previous comment. Fantastic cupcakes, if I do say so myself. It was a great day of good eats- I probably should have joined Jen on that run after all!

3 Responses to “farmer’s marketing”

  1. Faith September 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Thanks for beautiful pix and a great post! Those are two of my favorite markets! And I agree on the genius of the tokens at Midtown…you know what’s really great too? They take EBT/Food stamps there, and those people have their own lovely wooden tokens too, PLUS, Blue Cross has put up a big bunch of money so that for the first $5 in food stamp/ebt money you turn into tokens, you get a matching $5 in special cards !- you do have to spend the free $5 cards the same day………but you can do this every time you come to the market!!!! I think that’s a great use of Blue Cross’s money, don’t you?

  2. Jen h September 6, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Despite that awful picture of me…it was awesome to go together! Feel free to join me again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Deep-Fried Cheese Curds and Morning Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - September 6, 2010

    […] the making of a deep-fried cheese curd with Dick Mueller of the Original Deep Fried Cheese Curds, farmers marketing in Midtown, Dara previews Poor Richard’s Common House (Bloomington) and Prairie Ale House (Eden Prairie), […]

Leave a Reply

