an evening at Spruce

19 Sep

In honor of Jen’s birthday, I invited her to spend an evening with me at Spruce flower shop for one of their ‘Vessels and Vines’ classes. (I originally blogged about Spruce back in May.)

Amy, the owner of the shop (who also happens to be my neighbor), offers these great floral arranging classes. What’s great about this class is that you bring in a vase of your own and then get to choose the flowers you’d like to use in your arrangement from the beautiful selection that Amy has on hand. In addition, there may be cake…

and wine (!)…

Here’s how the rest of the evening played out for us. First, we entered the cooler to select our flowers.

With a little help from Amy and her design expertise, I chose a couple standard mums in a very autumnal color, along with these gorgeous yellow flowers (don’t remember the name), and then a couple ivory roses as well. It was really fun to be able to choose whatever we wanted for our arrangements.

Then we learned how to cut the flowers. With box cutters! Yipes! Here’s me trimming a flower. I was nervous, but luckily didn’t draw any blood.

Then we began arranging our flowers, based on the size and shape of our ‘vessels’.

Jen, working on her masterpiece

Here’s how our arrangements turned out…

Anne’s

Jen’s

The best part? A week and a half later, and my flowers still look great. I’m not giving away many of Amy’s tips and secrets, because I think you should check out one of her classes for yourselves!

2 Responses to “an evening at Spruce”

  1. jen September 20, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    This was so much fun and a great birthday gift!
    I learned lots of great flower arranging tips. I think all flower arranging should involve wine, cake and box cutters! :)

  2. Nic September 20, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    What an amazing idea! Thanks for posting about this! I have a girlfriend who would love this! I smell a Christmas present :)

Leave a Reply

