there are always eggs

14 Oct

It has been a really busy week for me. Not necessarily busy in terms of lots of stuff going on, but very busy in terms of my brain. My day job is a little bit crazy right now – which is a good thing. It’s suppose to be. When it’s crazy at work, I tend to be thinking about all the time. On top of that, I’m thinking a ton about the half marathon that is in 8 days. 8 days! I can’t help but be thinking about how my runs are going, will I be able to reach my goal, will my body stay healthy, will the ankle issue come back, what will the weather be like and so on. In addition, I think about things like the menu I need to create for an upcoming dinner party, ideas for a birthday gift I would like to give, the cooking magazines I’ve been neglecting, the house projects that I would like to complete and my parent’s anniversary that I completely spaced. Some days I feel like my brain is just on overload. Please tell me I’m not alone. Does anyone else feel like sometimes there is just to much going on in their heads? Like it’s possible for it to explode?

It’s days like these I’m thankful for eggs. The last thing I want to think about is what I’m going to make for dinner. I’ve been slacking on my meal planning and kind of winging it each night. On nights like these where I work a long day and then head out for a 5 mile run, I just want to eat something tasty without spending a lot of time on prep work or the actual cooking. The answer? Eggs.

I love eggs. They are so versatile. Plus they happen to be a great (and cheap) source of protein. And…they’re easy and quick. I love eggs when they are poached and have a runny yolk or if they are fried with a runny yolk. I also love scrambled eggs or an omelet. The only eggs I don’t enjoy are hard-boiled. I don’t like a hard yolk in any style of egg. It makes me gag a little just writing about it. I think it’s a texture thing. Or maybe it’s because I grew up with poached eggs on toast every Sunday after church. My dad liked runny yolks and therefore I did too. Dads know everything…well, at least mine does. :)

As I was finishing my run tonight, all I could think about was eggs on toast. I was literally chanting it as I huffed through the last half mile.

Tonight I opted for a scrambled version. I added some salt and Sunny Paris seasoning from Penzey’s. While the eggs were cooking, I toasted a couple of slices of bread (homemade by moi!) and smeared on some goat cheese. The hot eggs went on top to create an ooey-gooey goat cheese/egg mess on toast. It was done in a total of 5 minutes and totally hit the spot.

So, what about you? What are you thankful for that you can throw together when the brain just does not want to think about it?

5 Responses to “there are always eggs”

  1. LindsayC October 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Lately I’ve been throwing together dinners of toasted bread, marinated vegetables with olives and goat cheese. It takes 5-10 minutes (depending on whether you toast the bread in the toaster or in the oven) and it’s delicious.

    Also, my favorite way to make eggs comes from Amanda Hesser, and would easily satisfy the runny yolk lover in scrambled form:

    http://www.forkfulofnews.com/?p=440

  2. Jackson October 14, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    I love eggs from poached and runny, over easy and runny, scrambled and hard boiled. The hard boiled are best when made into deviled eggs. Yum.

  3. Ann October 15, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    Love running yolks to dip in toast. Eggs and pancakes with bacon are the go to quick meal at our house. I did not like breakfast for dinner when I was growing up, but now I understand why my mom did it, it’s easy and has everything a body needs:)

  4. Carin October 15, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    We do breakfast for dinner almost once a week becuase it is so easy…love eggs!

  5. cheryl October 18, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Love eggs and so do the pugs…scrambled with cheese is Glen’s fav…mine is poached on toast…

Leave a Reply

