food for thought: foods you used to hate

4 Nov

Food for thought question: Are there foods that you used to despise that you now love?

Jen said:

Currently, I can not get enough squash in my life. I love it. I’ve been making my favorite butternut squash soup, roasting chunks of delicata squash with olive oil, salt & pepper, making a few versions of chili with diced acorn squash, and baking pie pumpkins, pureeing them and sticking them into the freezer for special occasions.

It’s amusing to me that I like squash so much. I used to hate squash. Just the smell of it would make me gag. I remember my mom baking up squash each fall and her and my dad would just eat that for dinner. They would  be in food heaven and I would be eating cereal….thinking I was the smart one. My how the times have changed.

On my “foods I used to hate, but now love” list are:

  • squash
  • fresh tomatoes – I could handle them cooked in things but that was about it
  • chili
  • nuts – I didn’t like nuts baked into anything or on their own. I now have 5 different kinds hanging out in my freezer.
  • anything spicier than ketchup – I’ve come a LONG way on this one.

Anne said:

Oh, I hated squash as a kid, too. I also hated tomatoes. I was a pretty picky eater as a kid. I didn’t like things with sauces or anything with too much flavor. I didn’t even like macaroni and cheese or peanut butter when I was a kid. And I don’t remember liking cheese all that much. CHEESE, of all things?! I’m so glad my palate has matured. Other things I refused to touch but now like:

  • cole slaw
  • potato salad
  • cantaloupe
  • pumpkin pie
  • and more recently…curry!

So, what about you? Do you have foods you used to avoid and now run to? Any thoughts on why that happens?

One year ago: random rant: rustica

9 Responses to “food for thought: foods you used to hate”

  1. Ann November 4, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    I keep trying tomatoes, in some recipes I can handle them, others I cannot. Oatmeal…gagged as a youngster, trying to get past the texture thing, I am making some progress there. Other then that I have always pretty much liked everything.

    Jenn have you tried oyster stew lately????

    • anne November 4, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      Ew oateal! Hated it as a kid- keep trying to like it but I just can’t.

    • jen November 4, 2010 at 10:34 am #

      I have not tried oyster stew lately – how could I have forgotten about that one! I do like oysters so I would probably like it now. I might just have to give it awhirl.

  2. Jackson November 4, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    I have never been much of a picky eater but mushrooms use to make me gag as a kid and now I love them. However, I still don’t care for beef tongue. Yuck!
    I don’t much care for curry. I love oyster stew and I love lumpy oatmeal.:)

    • Ann November 4, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      beef tongue???? okay who eats that…really?????

  3. ads November 4, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Used to hate & now like:
    Tomatoes
    Cole slaw
    horseradish
    melons of all sorts

    Used to like and now hate:
    raisins

    Thanks for the tips and the memories!

  4. Dennis November 4, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    I can’t remember what I used to dislike. There are some things I avoided that I will eat with caution now [avocado, et al]. Jen, you like pizza? Have you been to Black Sheep [600 N Washington, Mpls] was above average — they also had Surly on tap so they got bonus points before ordering. Toppings include kalamata olives, artichoke, and salt packed anchovies. And what are your fav t-day side dishes?

  5. cheryl November 5, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    Jen, I remember those ketchup days! Congrats on being willing to explore those food adventures.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. food for thought: food aversions « She said. She said. - November 11, 2010

    […] Nov Yes, this week’s FFT is very similar to last week’s. But today we’re talking about food aversions. As in, foods you hate, can’t touch, […]

Leave a Reply

