food for thought: foods you are scared to make

18 Nov

Today’s food for thought question: Are there dishes or recipes that you are scared to make? Why?

Jen says:

I have a few….cooking a lobster being first on the list. It’s one of my food goals for this year and I still haven’t tried it. From everything I’ve heard, it’s not that hard, but it still freaks me out. I will complete my goal by the end of this year and you will for sure hear about it.  Number two is a souffle. I think it freaks me out because it freaks so many other people out.  Apparently is has to do with them “falling”. It can’t be an accident that so many people are scared of souffles, right? Have you made one? Was it as stressful as I’ve made it up to be?

The last one is hollandaise. I actually didn’t know I was scared of it until I decided to make it. So much can go wrong! I actually told myself to cowboy up and fake like I knew exactly how to prepare it. Going in confident (even if it’s fake confidence) will give you a leg up.

I’ll be posting soon on how it went, but until then here is a glimpse of what was involved….

Anne says:

Jen, up until you wrote this post, I had never pondered if there’s anything I’m scared to make. There are many, many things I don’t WANT to make, because I consider them too involved or they have too many ingredients or they simply don’t sound good to me. For example, I’ll rarely cook up a meal with seafood in it because I don’t particularly care for seafood, but if I was invited somewhere for dinner and a seafood dish was served, I’d probably eat it (if it wasn’t too scary. READ, if it wasn’t OYSTERS or squid tentacles or something.) Otherwise, I don’t think I’m particularly scared to make anything. I’d like to try a bunch of recipes from The New Spanish Table (like croquetas!) but I’ve never gotten around to it.

So, what about you? What freaks you out in the kitchen?


One year ago: a random rant on turkey day stress

5 Responses to “food for thought: foods you are scared to make”

  1. Ann November 18, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    The only thing that “scares” me is ruining an expensive meal. If I am using any expensive cut of meat, or seafood I get nervous. It’s sad to screw up something that cost a lot of money. Jen, we’ve made lobster, I remember it being really easy. Yummy!

  2. Lara November 18, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    Well, I conquered one of these this weekend – poached eggs! I have a terrible track record with eggs in general, but have recently discovered the deliciousness that is the poached egg – and now I can make them in the comfort of my own home. Thanks Cooking Light!

    Other fears – any baked sweets – cake, pie, etc; risotto; steak (again, bad track record); and lobster would probably freak me out too. Generally I have a fear of any and all recipes. I prefer to use them as a general guide the first time I make something, but I almost always forget a step or screw something up. I’m much happier making something up using ingredients and flavors I know will work together.

  3. Trout Caviar November 18, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Jen: Re lobster, it’s true, having your food moving around while you’re trying to cook it can be unnerving…! But once it’s in the pot, it’s as simple as boiling water. Putting the lobster in the freezer, or a snowbank, for a couple hours precooking will make it much less lively.

    Congrats on the hollandaise success!

    What freaks me out in the kitchen is not anything directly related to cooking, but rather delving down to the bottom of long-neglected crisper drawers, and finding, “Eeeewwww, what is that thing…?”.

    Brett

  4. Liza November 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    The hollandaise sauce was amazing! It made me want to lick the plate! Prior to GDC this past weekend, I would have said poached eggs – but you gave me the confidence that I could do it so I am going to try this weekend. We do lobsters on New Years – super easy, you can totally do it.

    • jen November 19, 2010 at 8:22 am #

      I’ll be home this weekend so call if you need any help!

Leave a Reply

