the race that wasn’t

4 Dec

I was suppose to run the Reindeer Run today. I was going to be running with my gorgeous god-daughter in her very first 5K!

Isn’t she cute? That’s her in the Gophers sweatshirt.

Well, the best plans don’t always work out. Two things got in our way.

1. The weather. We got a load of snow yesterday which prevented Joan (sis) and Kate (aforementioned gorgeous god-daughter) from driving in to the city. They would have been sitting in the car for eternity and I would have hated for them to get into any sort of accident. That is never cool.

2. Kate’s had the nastiest of colds including a hacking cough that has prevented her from running for the past few weeks. This would not have been that much fun for her and your first 5k should be fun and exciting!

 

I’m supper bummed we could not run in the race. I have done it in the past…

….and it’s very fun when you are with a group of friends who are as crazy as you to be running in the cold and snow.

 

Alas, since my running partner was stranded, I was not very motivated to go run by myself in cold weather and 6 inches of snow. Group stupidity only works when you are with a group.

I did, however, convince Brette to drive me down to the race site to pick up our t-shirts. I mean, I did pay the registration fee, I might as well get the shirt!

It certainly was a beautiful morning.

So, now we are on the hunt for a 5k in February and then who knows….maybe we’ll be running a half marathon together!

In the meantime, I’m likely going to keep most of my workouts inside, except for the occasional run if the weather is right. Read: no ice, above 20 degrees and not windy. Is that too much to ask for?

Back in the gym, spin classes are back in the fold along with some weight training, circuits and that dang dreadmill. Good thing winter is such a short season in Minnesota. Oh wait…..

 

What about you? Do you brave the elements and workout outside no matter what? Am I the only wimp?

 

 

 

4 Responses to “the race that wasn’t”

  1. thegoddaughter December 4, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    I love it! haha I really was bummed we couldn’t make it): but it’d be cool to do one in February for my birthday(: if you can find one! Love you!

  2. Fav Sista December 4, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Cute shirts! Yes, the girl slept in and then all of us were moving a bit slow this morning. It was good for Kate to be home as she got more much needed rest. Today is her final dose of her drugs so hopefully the hacking will continue to cease and hopefully be gone. Love you Jen!

  3. lindsay December 6, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I would have done the excat same thing! Maybe just run later in the day and skip the race. Misery loves company so without company and miserable cold weather, I’m out! But I am a super weeny in the cold, just confessing that. haha.
    LC

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. race recap: valentine’s day TC 5k « She said. She said. - February 17, 2011

    […] were suppose to run one back in December, which ended up being the race that wasn’t. Stupid […]

Leave a Reply

