cookie dilemma

6 Dec

The holiday season is certainly here. I’m now listening to Christmas music non-stop. It’s on at home, in my office, and in the car. I absolutely LOVE Christmas music. I think maybe it’s because it’s so full of joy. It  doesn’t have to be edited for the radio and it doesn’t deal with heartache, addiction or any other sad turn of events. It is strictly to celebrate the season and fill people with good cheer. I love that.
With Christmas in the air, cookies are now on my mind. Cookie Day is fast approaching. I am not ready! I’m not completely decided on which cookies I should make.  All of our classics will be represented: sugar cut-outs, gingerbread, peanut blossoms, date-filled, dipped pretzels, and my dad’s favorite, the date dipped.

I am leaning towards making a couple of new recipes this year. This can be a scary endeavor with this crew. If your cookie is a stinker, you’ll never hear the end of it! The new ones I’m considering are ‘Lemon-Glazed Candied Ginger Cookies’ and ‘Dark Chocolate-Espresso Cookies’. They are both out of the Martha Stewart Holiday Cookie Magazine. I’d actually like to make everything in here, so the fact that I narrowed it down is impressive.

Then there is side of me that thinks I should stick with the tried and trues. I’ve had mad success with Raspberry Ribbons and Double Chocolate-Cherry Espresso Drops. They both work well on a cookie plate and I know people like them. I like when people like my cookies. I hate having stinkers.

So, what’s a girl to do? Go for the new? Stick with the old? Go with something completely different? AHH!

Cookie Day is one of my favorite days of the entire year and I am so excited I can hardly stand it. The good news is that no matter if my cookies turn out or not, I will always have my champagne sistas!

What is your favorite cookie? Any out there I must make? Any advice on my dilemma?

5 Responses to “cookie dilemma”

  1. Young Wifey December 6, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    My favorite cookies are oatmeal chocolate chip, dark choc coated shortbread and almond biscotti.
    Hubster’s favorites are peanut butter blossoms and no bakes.

  2. cheryl December 6, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    I made a recipe a few years ago, called nutmeg logs. The dough was rolled out like a pencil and cut into logs. There was a small amount of frosting on with a shake of nutmeg. They were outstanding. The lemon ginger ones you were making sound delicious too.

    • Ann December 7, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Cheryl..those sound right up my alley!

  3. Carin December 8, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    I say go with one new cookies, you will never know how good they are if you don’t make them and they are MS, so how bad can they be!?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. there were cookies…but no cookie day « She said. She said. - December 11, 2010

    […] made three different cookies and I know you’re dying to know which ones since I was in quite a dilemma. I ended up making the classic Peanut Blossoms, the Lemon-Glazed Candied Ginger Cookies, and […]

Leave a Reply

