there were cookies…but no cookie day

11 Dec

Earlier this week I was babbling incessantly to Brette about how much I love living in Minnesota. I love my community, I love the people, I love the local food scene and many times, I love the weather.

On Friday, I cursed Minnesota. We had major words. I may have been crying in the REI parking lot. I may have scared small children.

All of this was because of an impending snow storm. This storm caused something that has never happened.

It canceled Cookie Day.

To say I was bummed, is a massive understatement. I was in desperate need for a family fix and a day at the folks’ along with my sistas was highly anticipated. But, things were out of my control. This storm was being billed as the biggest one since the 1991 Halloween Blizzard and being snowed in at my parents (90 minutes south of here) indefinitely was not a real option. Plus, my dad really did not want us traveling at all. He’s a dad. He doesn’t like his girls in any danger no matter how well we think we can get out it. I love him for that.

So this all came to a head as I was sitting in the REI parking lot about to go pick up my sister Jackie.  Calls were going back and forth between us four sisters and my parents and the writing was on the wall. Cookie Day was not going to happen. Apparently I had not cried in awhile, as I was a major puddle. I also yelled some not so nice words a few times in between the round robin phone tag.

Home I went, where I unloaded the car, corked a bottle of wine and started to devise a plan on how to get back at the meteorologists in the event that the “snownami” they claimed didn’t amount to much.

Thankfully (for them), the snow did hit and it hit hard. We have a foot so far and it’s blowing like the dickens and the temps are falling fast. most of the city is shut down and travel is NOT recommended.

The sisters agreed that we would all make our cookies and have somewhat of a virtual cookie day.

I wore my cute new santa t-shirt, threw on my santa hat, cranked the Christmas tunes and started the oven. The only tradition I did not keep was the champagne toast to start the day. I didn’t think the champagne would keep well and I knew better than to drink the whole bottle before baking. Although, it could have made quite the story.

I made three different cookies and I know you’re dying to know which ones since I was in quite a dilemma. I ended up making the classic Peanut Blossoms, the Lemon-Glazed Candied Ginger Cookies, and Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies. The later was a last minute swap when I realized I didn’t have all of the right ingredients for the Dark Chocolate-Espresso Cookies. Here’s how it all went down.

The Peanut Blossoms:

I make these every year. Everyone loves them and they are Brette’s favorite. You just cannot go wrong with the peanut butter and chocolate combination. I think this batch turned out great. We only had one casualty. They are slippery little buggers.

I used a combination of milk chocolate and dark chocolate stars. Using the dark chocolate makes them healthy. Seriously. I will do anything to justify cookie eating. :)

The Lemon-Glazed Ginger Cookies:

This was a new recipe from Martha Stewart. They were a snap to make though I have learned I’m not a great ‘glaze drizzler’. I’m nick-naming these my Jackson Pollock cookies.

(These were the nicest looking ones. It took awhile to find four that weren’t frightening.)

They are a tasty crispy cookie. I wish the ginger flavor was  little more pronounced. It called for 1/2 cup of crystallized ginger, but maybe a little ground ginger would have helped. We’ll see how they go over the public first before I make any changes or make them again for that matter.

 

Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies:

I think these were my favorite today and they also came from Martha Stewart. I love me some chocolate and this has the addition of cinnamon and chipotle powder so the flavor is a lot more complex. They were super delicious with my peppermint tea this afternoon.

The only thing I might do differently when I make these again is add a little more chipotle powder. I may change my mind on that as I solicit feedback from various tasters, but I think a little more heat would make them pretty nifty.

 

So, I still made cookies today, but I missed my family a lot. Like crazy a lot.

I missed scenes like this….

and this….

 

and this…

and this beautiful woman….

and of course the cookie smorgasboard….

The only thing I’m grateful for is that my cookies didn’t require decorating. Poor Jackie and Ann were stuck with double batches of gingerbread and sugar cookies. The decorating is the most laborius part. Good thing they are troopers…and have children.

Oh- and as for my sister Joan, who was making my favorite cookie (the date-filled)… her oven broke this morning! Talk about pouring salt in a wound. Sorry Joan! I hope the oven gets fixed soon…for the cookie’s sake.

Cookie Day 2010 has come to an end, but never really felt like it started.

Next year will be the 20th anniversary of Cookie Day. It is going to be epic. I might start the countdown…..right now.

 

In the meantime, would you rather have the recipe for the Lemon Glazed Ginger Cookies or the Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies or both? Let me know in the comments! Maybe you’ll even get lucky and some will be delivered to you. However, they might have to be delivered by mule.

12 Responses to “there were cookies…but no cookie day”

  1. Ann December 11, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Jenn I think the new cookies sound wonderful. You will just have to make them next year. Yes.. we made all the cut outs and Annika and I decorated our little hearts out. It was fun, but I missed our sister cookie “banter”.

  2. Ann December 11, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Oh, the Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies, please.

    OK maybe also the Lemon Glazed Ginger Cookies.

  3. Jackson December 11, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    The lemon glazed ginger sound yummy and I happen to have ginger and lemon. My gingerbread cookies are delicious and I didn’t get to making the other I was going to make. Maybe Monday.

  4. cheryl December 11, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    Me too…lemon ginger. I made cookies today too. I was inspired by your cookie day. Tomorrow pizelles…love them too. My son is very excited that I’m baking. Will save some of them for Christmas.

  5. scott December 11, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Sorry to hear cookie day was canceled. Those mexican hot chocolate cookies sound good, and my dad’s got mules so maybe he could ride them over and pick them up for me.

  6. Cathy December 11, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I really miss ‘Cookie Days’. We moved here from Nebraska and the last Christmas that we were there, we baked with my Grandma, my Mom, my sister and five kids! It was awesome and I’m so glad I have that memory!

    And I would love the recipe for the Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies. Those sound perfect.

  7. anne December 11, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    CHOCOLATE!

  8. Amanda December 11, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Mexican Hots please! I am the opposite of you and pretty much NEVER make cookies for Christmas. There are always so many from everyone else. I think I’ll change that this year with the addition of your Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies. I think my family’s usuals could use a little spice!

  9. Fav Sista December 12, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Everytime I open my fridge my cookie dough looks at me longingly – I can hear a whisper “bake me!” I would love to. The stove is out of commission until a repair shop opens and someone returns our calls. All of you sista’s and mom were in my thoughts yesterday. I think I even could smell some cookies baking… I would like both recipes and hope to get a good taste on 12\26 if any survive that long.

  10. Amy December 12, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    I just made a batch of the Mexican hot chocolate cookies this morning, and I agree, a little more chipotle would be good. Great recipe though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. mexican hot-chocolate cookies « She said. She said. - December 12, 2010

    […] Dec Thank you for all of your sweet comments on my lost Cookie Day! Most people opted that they wanted to know more about the Mexican Hot-Chocolate Cookies. However, […]

  2. lemon-glazed candied-ginger cookies « She said. She said. - December 13, 2010

    […] about the sweet.  This is a new recipe (another Martha Stewart) that I was planning on bringing to Cookie Day. I made them anyway and many of you asked for the recipe so I’m sharing it with you today. I […]

Leave a Reply

