mexican hot-chocolate cookies

12 Dec

Thank you for all of your sweet comments on my lost Cookie Day! Most people opted that they wanted to know more about the Mexican Hot-Chocolate Cookies. However, you lemon-ginger fans have no fear! I’ll be posting that cookie tomorrow. I would hate to disappoint you.

I’ve decided I REALLY like these cookies. Why?

1. They are super simple to put together.

2. The will freeze beautifully.

3. They are excellent dunked in coffee or with a cup of peppermint tea.

4. They make me feel a little more grown-up because of the addition of the spice.

5. Oh, and they taste good!

I happen to have these ingredients in the house at all times. I’m a huge fan of chipotle powder and would highly recommend you get your hands on some. Then you can make these yummy pecans for some snazzy gifts.

If you don’t have the chipotle powder, you could use any ground chile, but the heat is going to vary. The next time I make these, I will use 3/4 tsp. of the chipotle powder. In a pinch, I think you could use regular chili powder or even cayenne, but the results will definitely vary.

I’m including the recipe as Martha (or her minions) wrote it and adding in my comments.

Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies

from Martha Stewart

Note: The recipe says it makes 3 dozen, but I got about 4 dozen. It depends on how big you roll your balls of dough.

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 (or up to 1) teaspoon chipotle powder, ancho chile powder, or arbol chile powder (depends on the heat of your chile – use caution)
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees, with racks in upper and lower thirds. In a medium bowl, sift  or whisk together flour, cocoa powder, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Scrape down side of bowl. Add eggs and beat to combine. With mixer on low, gradually add flour mixture and beat until combined.

    In a small bowl, combine remaining 1/4 cup sugar, cinnamon, and chile powder. Using heaping tablespoons, form balls of dough and roll in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place, about 3 inches apart, on two parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake until cookies are set in center and begin to crack, about 10 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. (Mine only took 9 minutes so be sure to keep an eye on them.) Let cookies cool on sheets on wire racks 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to racks to cool completely. (Store in an airtight container, up to 1 week.)

    I freeze mine by putting them on our stairs that lead to our unfinished and unheated second story. If I was putting them in my actual freezer, I would put them in an airtight and freezer-safe container.

    You will have leftover cinnamon chipotle sugar mixture.  I’m thinking it would be good just sprinkled on buttered toast. Any great ideas?

    7 Responses to “mexican hot-chocolate cookies”

    1. LindsayC December 12, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

      I have a cookie and wine tasting coming up next weekend — this recipe will be perfect with a bold red wine. Thank you!

    2. Spicy Chocolate December 12, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks for this cookie recipe. I have half of a Sulpice Chocolat dark chocolate bar with cinnamon and chilis. I wonder if I could try to melt some of it and drizzle it on top of the cookies for an extra touch.

      • jen December 12, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

        Yum! I cannot imagine that would hurt at all. :)

    3. Jackson December 12, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

      Sounds yummy. Maybe the leftover cinnamon chipotle sugar would be good on oatmeal?

      • jen December 13, 2010 at 8:50 am #

        I tried that this morning with my pumpkin oats – it was delicious! Thanks for the tip.

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Spicy Hot Cocoa and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - December 13, 2010

      […] bacon-wrapped dates, Mexican hot chocolate cookies, Christmas empanadas, spicy hot cocoa for a serious winter, a pimento cheeseball, and Italian […]

    2. Hot chocolate, the cookie version | Forkful of News - December 21, 2010

      […] My obsession with ancho chile went to a whole new level this weekend. I discovered Mexican hot chocolate cookies, inspired by the lovely Jen at She Said. She Said. […]

    Leave a Reply

