lemon-glazed candied-ginger cookies

13 Dec

Lemon and ginger are a great couple, aren’t they? I happen to love the combination in both sweet and savory applications. However, my life is about cookies lately, so this time I’m absolutely talking about the sweet.  This is a new recipe (another Martha Stewart) that I was planning on bringing to Cookie Day. I made them anyway and many of you asked for the recipe so I’m sharing it with you today.

I have a few thoughts on the recipe in general.
  • Next time, I would add 1 teaspoon of ground ginger to the dough. Although there is a 1/2 cups of crystallized ginger, I found it got a little lost. I would worry that more of the crystallized ginger would mess with the consistency of the dough.

  • This recipes makes enough glaze for about 500 cookies. I would half the recipe for the glaze. Just a drizzle of the glaze is enough for these cookies. Much more than that and they become too sweet.
  • My glazing abilities did not look like Martha’s. I thinned the glaze with some water because I thought it was a little thick. It still didn’t help. Maybe I should have put it in piping bag with a small tip? If you have suggestions or have better luck, let me know.

Overall, I like these cookies. I like that they are a little different from the traditional Christmas cookies and they add some flare to my cookie plates. I will likely make them again for that reason….and because I like lemon and ginger.

Lemon-Glazed Candied-Ginger Cookies
Note: I’m writing the recipe as she intended, but please see my notes above for suggested changes.I added some comments in the directions as well.
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for surface
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt, plus a pinch
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped candied ginger
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons finely grated lemon zest
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/3 cup water

Directions

  1. Sift (or whisk) flour, baking powder, and 3/4 teaspoon salt into a bowl. Cream butter and brown sugar with a mixer on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add ginger, and beat for 2 minutes. Beat in egg and vanilla until well combined. Add flour mixture, and then beat on medium-low speed until dough just comes together.
  2. Shape dough into two 1-inch-thick disks. Wrap tightly in plastic, and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (or up to 3 days). (I put all of my dough into a tupperware container and let it chill in the fridge for a day.)
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll out 1 disk on a lightly floured surface to inch thickness, and cut out 2-inch circles (I used a small drinking glass for this and I needed a ton of flour). Place the rounds 1/2 inch apart on parchment-lined (or sprayed) baking sheets. Roll out and cut scraps. Refrigerate rounds for 10 minutes.
  4. Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until cookies are set and edges are light gold, 12 to 14 minutes. Transfer parchment with cookies to wire racks. Let cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough. (Cookies can be stored for up to 3 days.)
  5. Whisk confectioners’ sugar, lemon zest and juice, honey, water, and a pinch of salt in a bowl until smooth. Drizzle glaze over the cooled cookies (see notes). Let stand until glaze is set, at least 20 minutes. (My cookies are in an airtight container separated by parchment paper and are in my freezer.)

After all this cookie baking and testing, I might have to eat salad for a week straight. Maybe I’ll add some cookie croutons?

Did you try anything new or different this year? How did it turn out?

One Response to “lemon-glazed candied-ginger cookies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cranberry Maple Chutney and Morning Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - December 14, 2010

    […] and corn risotto; smoky blue cheese mashed potato soup; quinoa, artichoke and kalamata salad; lemon-glazed candied-ginger cookies; cranberry maple chutney; and wild rice and wheatberry melange with shiitake mushrooms. […]

Leave a Reply

