Ba Bao Tea

16 Dec

About a year ago, I was gifted a few packages of Pagoda Red’s Ba Bao Tea. Last year at this time, I was also pregnant, and aware that some ingredients in certain teas aren’t advised during pregnancy. So I decided to shelve the Ba Bao and save it for a time when I could fully indulge and enjoy a relaxing cup of the tea. Even though I had forgotten about it, the Ba Bao has been waiting for me in the back of my tea/spices shelf in the cupboard. This morning I was craving a mug of tea and to my surprise and happiness, found two packages of the Ba Bao tea. I quickly microwaved up a mug of hot water, grabbed my cup-sized brew basket, and was about to pour the loose leaf tea in when I happened to glance inside the package and saw this:

(?????????)

Let’s look a little closer, said I.

I closely examined these strange objects in my bag of tea, and then I read the package.

Ba Bao Tea, with 8 treasures: goji berry, red jujube, boat-fruited sterculia, lycium berry, crystallized cane sugar, chrysanthemum blossoms, fine green tea, and longan fruit.

(????????)

Then, on the back, I read the DIRECTIONS. Amazing things, those directions: Empty contents of package into a teapot and add boiling water. Let 8 treasures blossom. Steep for 3-4 minutes. Strain aromatic brew as desired.

(!!!!!!!!)

So, I got up on a chair and dug around in the cupboard above the refrigerator, and I pulled out an ACTUAL teapot. Then I put the teaKETTLE on the stove to boil. Then I did this:

Then when the water was boiling, I did this:

Then I looked in my cupboard to see if I had any Asian-esque type of teacup. I did not. So I selected this lovely mug instead. Then I used the strainer as I poured the tea into my mug (because there were some black floaty things I didn’t want to drink).

And then I drank it. It’s r-e-a-l-l-y good. So I had a second mug.

Ba Bao tea… read more about it here!

2 Responses to “Ba Bao Tea”

  1. Amanda December 17, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I love tea and have never heard of this. Where would one find or purchase Ba Bao Tea?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rush Creek Reserve and Morning Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - December 17, 2010

    […] makes a strong case for why Travail should hire servers, thoughts on ba bao tea, the joy of tachos (tater tot nachos) at the Herkimer, there’ll be a local cookbook author […]

Leave a Reply

