the race calendar

1 Jan

Happy New Year!

I must say I’ve had a pretty perfect start to the new year. Last night we rang in the new year by watching 6 episodes of The Wire (season 5) while enjoying some scallops, cocktails and Izzy’s ice cream (thanks Santa!).  I didn’t actually make it until midnight, but I came close. 11:40 to be exact.

This morning we met some pals for brunch at Hell’s Kitchen, spent some quality time with our respective comfy spots in the living room with books, magazines and iPhone games and topped it off by finally seeing the latest Harry Potter movie. Awesome day!

What does any of this have to do with my 2011 race calendar? Nothing. I just thought you should know about the exciting life I lead.

So I’ve been thinking about what type of fitness events I want to do this year for a few months now and I’m really happy and excited for what’s on tap. As I started planning for the year, I knew I wanted to do two half marathons and a couple multi-sport events.  This will be the first year in the quite some time that I won’t need to train for a 300-mile bike tour, so I had a lot more options.  I still wanted to include biking, but in a different way. I want to put more focus on biking shorter distances….faster. After lots of research, talking with Brette and my running and biking friends, I’m really excited with the events on my calendar.

I’m going to break this down by dividing the events into two categories: the absolutes and the potential add-ins. I think the absolutes are pretty self-explanatory and the potential add-ins are ones that I’m still considering but holding off until other plans are confirmed and how I’m feeling after the first couple events.

 

The Absolutes:

Valentine’s  Day 5K – this race is to make up for the race that wasn’t. It will also be part of the birthday celebration for my almost 16 year old god-daughter. How am I that old?

Lake Minnetonka Half Marathon – I really want to do two half marathons this year – a spring and a fall. I wasn’t very familiar with any spring half marathons, but after doing some research and talking to some running folks, I decided on this one. The course looks fairly flat (with some rolling small hills) and it’s bound to be beautiful as we wind through the lake and bay trails.

Green Lake Duathlon (run, bike, run) – this is very close to where Brette is from and 2011 will only be the 2nd year of the event. We’re in the works of getting a bunch of people to participate. It’s beautiful country out there. Let me know if you want to join us!

Warrior Dash – this is the definite odd ball in the mix but I think it’s the perfect mid-season event to make sure I don’t take myself too seriously. It’s a 3-mile obstacle course that will involve getting muddy. And since I’m doing it with friends, I will look cool, not stupid.

Mankato Half Marathon – after participating in it’s inaugural year, I am already excited to do it again. I really enjoyed racing in my hometown and now that I know the event, I’d like to improve my time. (if you missed it, my race recap is here)

 

Potential Ad-ins:

Minneapolis Duathlon – I know people that have done this (hi Meghan!) and it has gotten really good reviews. It is in the middle of training for the Mankato Half, so I want to see how training is going before making my decision.

IronGirl Duathlon – I did this event 5 years ago and have wanted to do it again ever since. I like that it is an all female event. However, it’s an expensive one and sells out quickly. I would like to wait to decide further into the season, but I might not have the chance.

TC 10 mile – This is as lottery system so even if I sign up, it might not happen. It’s a very popular event and is on the same day as the Twin Cities Marathon. The marathon is the thing to do (or watch) if you live in Minneapolis/St. Paul and the 10 mile is for those of us not crazy enough to do the marathon.

Monster Dash Half-Marathon – this is a very strong possibility as I did the 10 mile one week after the Mankato Half this past year. It doesn’t look like they are offering a 10-mile course in 2011, so I’m going to play it by ear and possibly do back-to-back half-marathons.

 

It is likely that other smaller races might make their way into the calendar as the season progresses, but these are the big ones.

As far as goals for these races? Well, I will tackle them as they come. Right now, I’m getting my head wrapped around being back in training mode. One thing I know for sure is that I will be only running 3 days a week, but adding two cross-training days (biking), strength training and yoga into the mix.  I do love having a fresh start in a new year. I feel like all things are possible for these events and that is so exciting!

 

So, what about you? Any fitness events you are planning on for 2011? If not events, goals?

7 Responses to “the race calendar”

  1. cheryl January 2, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Mary’n and I are in the process of setting up some fitness goals for the year and we will be reserving for camping for the summer during January. Have been thinking about food goals, but haven’t come up with any but if you want to learn to make french sea salt carmels or lefse, let me know.

    • jen January 3, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Yes to the lefse – I would love that!

  2. Monica January 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    How did I miss this? I am getting back into the game this year…after planning a wedding last year. So, I’m going to pick up where I left off (a few pounds heavier) and try to do the following:
    1. Heart Mini – 15K in March. It’s fun, but very hilly.
    2. Sprint tri – April. I did this one the first 2 years I was here and enjoyed it both times.

    I am not ready to plan beyond that. But I hope to add:
    1. The Horsey Hundred: http://www.bgcycling.org/index.php/rides-mainmenu-95/horsey-hundred-mainmenu-71
    2. Duathlon at the end of the summer (Sept): http://www.active.com/triathlon/oxford-oh/hueston-woods-triathlon-and-duathlon-2010

    That’s it… so far. No 1/2 marathons for me. I do not enjoy.

    • jen January 5, 2011 at 7:19 am #

      These are great! I give you mad props for being willing to swim in open water and for running on hills.

      • Monica January 5, 2011 at 8:41 am #

        :) No open water swims! Pool swim for the first tri. The duathlon has a tri with an open water swim. Not going to do it. I hate swimming anyway.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 food goals « She said. She said. - January 2, 2011

    […] and well…. fun! If you missed my race calendar for 2011 (those are huge motivators for me), check it out and let me know if you want to join in the […]

  2. spring training « She said. She said. - March 27, 2011

    […] I planned out my races for the year, I really liked the idea of doing a spring half marathon and a fall half marathon.  Apparently I […]

Leave a Reply

