2011 food goals

2 Jan

I’ve been putting off this post all day. Why?

I think partly because I didn’t want to pry myself away from reading a book and playing tetris and partly because I just couldn’t decide on my food goals. I’m not really a resolution type of gal – I keep those deep thoughts for my birthday . However, I do like to set goals each year. I find them motivating and well…. fun! If you missed my race calendar for 2011 (those are huge motivators for me), check it out and let me know if you want to join in the fun.

After asking people on Facebook, chatting with friends and confirming with Brette, I finally have my list of things I would like to do this year as it relates to food.

1. Make my own pasta. It’s crazy that I have not done this on my own. My friend, Kari has taught me how to do it. I have a very nice pasta maker thanks to my friend Jaime. And now I even have really nice Italian flour perfect for pasta because my friend Susan is awesome. I think the universe is trying to tell me something. Plus, with all this racing, I will need those carb-laced noodles more than ever.

2. Throw a big paella party. This was a suggestion from Willa and it didn’t take me long to add it to the list. Paella is my all-time favorite meal. I fell in love with it while studying in Spain. It is a very traditional rice dish that is flavored with saffron and can include tasty things like chorizo, chicken thighs, shrimp, squid and mussels. To date  it is definitely one of my most memorable meals. Brette and I have had a few smaller gatherings where we’ve made paella, but I’m thinking something bigger. A big paella party. This would likely involve buying a very large paella pan….which Brette has been dying to do so it was meant to be, right?

This pan says it feeds 40-50 – wow!

3. Dine at the following restaurants; Piccolo, Haute DishTravail, and Corner Table. The first three are all very new (opened in the past year) and are getting all sorts of great publicity. Corner Table is one of those that consistently gets raved about and they have a great farm to table approach. For some reason, I just have not made it there. I must remedy that. If anyone would like to take me to any of these, please call.

4. Visit a farm that I shop from. Over the past few years, I have made a huge effort to buy things from local farmers and I’ve been fortunate enough to get to know many of them. However, I have never actually been to their farms. This is another idea that Willa brought to my attention (she’s a smart one) and it is a great one. The only tough part will be deciding which farm to visit!

5. Eat a vegan diet at least one day each week (the WHOLE day). This is more preparation than anything. If you’ve been hearing rumors that there will be a vegan lent challenge occurring, they’re true. I’ve been doing well at cooking a vegan meal at least once a week, though I don’t know that I’ve been conscious of it throughout the whole day. I will continue to do this post-lent regardless of how the challenge goes.

6. This isn’t my goal, but Brette’s. He would like to smoke a wild turkey breast at some point. We have the wild turkey breast (hello family of hunters!) and we have the smoker. Now all we need is some nice weather, a chaise lounge and a gin and tonic and we’re all set!

So, that’s what I got for now. I will most likely come up with a must-cook at some point, but in the meantime, I’m very happy with my goals.

Do you have any food goals for the year? Something you’ve been dying to make? A vow to use your cookbooks? A change you’d like to make to your eating habits?
Spill it!

8 Responses to “2011 food goals”

  1. Jackson January 2, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    I hope to use my new “The Food Matters Cook Book” by Mark Bittman about once a week. There are some really yummy looking recipes in there. I am also looking forward to the big paella party. Maybe you could have a sangria contest? That could be interesting.:)

  2. lindsay January 2, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Can I come to your paella party?! Too fun!!! I also like the vegan meal once a week, its helps me get creative.
    LC

  3. Megsp January 2, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    WE ARE TAKING YOU TO TRAVAIL-duh! Already told you that. Let’s pick a date. And feel free to have us over for make your own pasta night… it is on my list of things to accomplish. I’ve helped do it once-and holy hannah was it amazing! I can make a killer puttanesca sauce (sans anchovies).

  4. Monica January 3, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Okay, a few things:
    1. I will definitely join you on the making pasta. I will also add: making bread with the breadmaker I bought for A’s birthday last year and never used. Continue to use wedding gifts to cook.
    2. On being vegan: I recommend buying this: http://herb-pharm.com/catalog/peppermintspirits-p-149.html?allowpurchase=no. Veganism is hard on your stomach and peppermint in water can help it (Brette will thank me).
    3. I also recommend: http://www.food.com/recipe/chocolate-pudding-cake-vegan-401907. Yum. Just made it for A’s birthday b/c it is objectively good and his niece can’t have dairy.

    • jen January 3, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Awesome on all three fronts – thank you!

  5. lindsay January 4, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    just wanted to thank you for your kind words on my blog. They mean so much!

  6. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 4, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I LOVE all of your food goals! I’m hoping to register for a mixer with pasta attachment and then I’ll *hopefully* start making pasta on a regular basis :)
    Go to Haute Dish. We LOVED it!
    I want to actually use some of my cookbooks instead of just reading them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. restaurant review: the corner table « She said. She said. - January 23, 2011

    […] was even more excited to be going to the Corner Table. It was on my list of food goals for the year and I’ve been reading about it for more than a couple of years. They are known […]

Leave a Reply

