current reads

14 Jan

I had a hard time figuring out what to blog about as a follow up to Anne’s farewell. Is there proper blog etiquette for a situation like this? If so, I’m not aware of it.

So, I’ll just keep it light….as opposed to the normally heavy material that I post here.

While Anne may not be blogging with me, we are still best of friends. In fact, we just saw each other at book club.

With books on my mind, I thought I would share the books I’m currently reading.

Are you shocked that 3 out of 4 are cookbooks? Don’t be. They are novels to me.

The non-cookbook on the pile, The Book Thief, is what we read for book club. I would highly recommend this book. It takes place in Nazi Germany and is told from the perspective of the Germans. I could not put it down and I didn’t want it to end. We all liked it and we had a great discussion (you know it’s good when we talk more about the book than we do just about life). The discussion lead to a lot of googling to refresh our memory of some of the details surrounding WWI and WWII.  I tried to channel my 8th grade history class, but there were a few zillion blank spots. We also watched the movie trailer!

A few words on the others in the pile.

Super Natural Cooking by Heidi Swanson – this is a book I’ve been eyeing for a long time. I’m a huge fan of Heidi’s blog, 101 Cookbooks, so I was pretty sure I’d enjoy the book. It’s awesome! The photos are taken by her and the writing is fabulous. She takes you through building a more natural pantry and what to do with those natural ingredients. I have about 35 recipes earmarked so far and have all ready made two of them – and they were terrific. If you are interested in some new spins on healthy food (That don’t taste like cardboard), I would highly recommend this book. She has a new one coming out in April that I’ve already pre-ordered.

Nigella Kitchen by Nigella Lawson- I have many friends that love Nigella’s books, but this is the first to my cookbook shelf. I haven’t even gotten to the recipes yet and I’m loving it. Her writing makes cooking and anything to do with food seem like such a sensual experience. I can even hear her English accent through the words. In fact, if I read it out loud, I think I would have to read it like she talks. I’ll spare all of you. You’re welcome. Her focus is on simple dishes without much fuss. Who doesn’t need more of those for busy weeknights? I cannot wait to dive in.

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman – A friend of mine has been telling me I need to buy this book for a couple of months. I think she even pointed her finger at me and made me promise. We eat a lot less meat since the vegetarian summer and with a vegan lent challenge around the corner, I’m building my arsenal of scrumptious dishes. I have barely cracked this one so I can’t give it a lot of kudos yet, but based on what I see, I’ll like it. It gives you a dish and then about 12 different ways to change it up.  I have a feeling it will be up there with Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone – one of my go-to resources.

And yes, that’s the latest issue of Food & Wine. I finally just cracked into that last night. While I enjoy reading this magazine a lot, I don’t make a ton of recipes from it. However, in my brief skim, this issue looks like it has some keepers.

So as Anne eluded to in her farewell (tear), there are some potential changes coming down the pipe. Please bear with me and stay tuned! If you have any ideas for things you’d like to see or a possible name change, please let me know.  In the meantime, you can expect my normal random thoughts, recipes, reviews and whatnot.

What’s on your reading list right now?

3 Responses to “current reads”

  1. Brette January 14, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    As you know, I just finished “Born to Run.” I really enjoyed it as evidenced by my butt divot on my end of the couch.

  2. Liz January 14, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I love “How to cook everything vegetarian.” It is really helpful learning how to cook vegetables you’ve never cooked before.

  3. anne January 15, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I’ll post my current reads on FatJ. Maybe we can still do some dual blogging and communicate via our respective blogs:) Mwa ha!

Leave a Reply

